Skip to content

Knitting in a Zipper

October 22, 2012
by

Once upon a time, I made a sweater. It was very pretty and soft and cozy (and it was actually finished, it’s just that I don’t seem to have a photograph of it finished).  I liked it very much. It combined some of my favorite colors and one of my favorite yarns and it was meant to be a cozy layering sweater.

I knit it with corrugated ribbing at the hem and cuffs, and applied i-cord along the edges.  I had originally planned on getting nice pewter buttons  and putting some i-cord buttonhole loops on one of the sides.  However, I couldn’t find buttons I really liked so I decided to just use regular applied i-cord and put in a zipper.

In the end, though, it turns out that I was far too intimidated at the thought of sewing a zipper into my sweater. Nevermind the fact that I had already sewn lines down my sweater and CUT IT APART, sewing a zipper in was just too much to think about.  What if the sewing machine ate my sweater???

After leaving the sweater to sit in my almost-finished basket for far too many months, I decided it was getting a bit ridiculous. I gave the sweater to my mom in exchange for her putting buttons, snaps or a zipper in if she wanted one.   (In retrospect this was probably a good thing, because these colors are more “her” than “me”.)

Now, several years later, TECHKnitter just came out with a fantastic tutorial including instructions for how to KNIT a zipper into your finished sweater.  Click here, read the tutorial, and get knitting (with zipper)!

~Abigail

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

