Skip to content

So many challenges.

July 28, 2012

Have you ever noticed that when one fun knitting challenge comes up, it is never alone? I guess it is because gift knitting takes up a lot of time for a lot of knitters in the fall and winter, and spring is spent recovering from that, which leaves summer as prime KAL time. Just yesterday, the third project for Camp Loopy started, and so did the Ravellenic games. I am not taking part in Nerd Wars, but some friends are, and that challenge starts on the first I believe. We also have a stashdown going on in the fans of Three Irish Girls group, to make room in our stashes for the new colourways that will be released in the fall at some point.

What is a knitter to do!? All these challenges are fun, and help improve our skills. But I have design work to do too, and kids to raise, and there just isn’t time for it all. So I have gotten smart. I am combining the 3 events to make one giant FO. Wait, did I say smart? Huh. I am using the Vortex Shawl pattern (free on Ravelry) to make a blanket using 4 full skeins of Three Irish Girls yarn, and plan to bind off using a part skein as well. Working from the inside out, I will be using Zephyr on Adorn, followed by Curiouser and Curiouser, Bayside, and Moon for the Misbegotten on Glenhaven fingering. I plan to BO using either When you Wish Upon a Star (CY) on Glenhaven, or a bright turquoise on Velvet fingering that doesn’t have a name. Not counting the BO colours, this will use a total of 1824 yards. The Camp Loopy challenge is to use 500. I think I will have that covered.

The last day for the Ravellenic games is August 12. I need to use 25g of yarn a day to get it done. I can totally do this, right? And if I can’t, I have until the 27th to get it done for Camp Loopy.

Here is my first progess picture, taken last night. I love the “pooling” at the centre. It’s an auspicious start.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rhonnie permalink
    July 28, 2012 12:47 pm

    Oh my! I sooo agree! I hate not being able to play in all the KALs!
    I’m doing camp loopy and probably the rav games (if I finish in time).
    Your start is so pretty! I love zephyr!

  2. Amy K. permalink
    July 28, 2012 1:13 pm

    Beautiful,Trisha! I can’t wait to see it! I’m an overachiever, too. . .it’s not always easy, but the results are stunning! GO you!!! ;)

Leave a Reply

