Skip to content

Endless Stockinette, and Camp Loopy Recap

July 9, 2012
tags:
by

I am solidly into the endless stockinette portion of my Wintery Pi shawl – 576 stitches per round of endless stockinette.

So, since I just started the Audition #3 episode of Master Chef, I thought I’d share photos of my finished Camp Loopy Project One: A Clock for Camp – you know, only a month after I finished it. Oops. Sorry about that.

This Ganesh statue has been the prop for a lot of my finished objects, but I found that he was a little tricky with this shawl.  I love the shape of the shawl for myself, but it doesn’t suit Ganesh very well.  Unfortunately I was running short on time to get a photo and upload it to the Camp Loopy gallery before the end-of-school-year insanity descended so this will have to do for now.

I really loved knitting this sharf (it is not really as big as a proper shawl, but not as small as a scarf either). Garter stitch is one of my favorite things (not sure why I love garter, but find stockinette to be quite endless…) and I love the simple use of slipped stitches to create solid color bands across the variegated-and-semisolid stripes.  I also love stripes in garter stitch.

There are a few things I wish I had done slightly differently, namely the larger semisolid stripes at the top, middle and bottom.  They are worked in garter stitch, which was pretty easy to do and fit well with the rest of it, but I wish I had worked them in stockinette stitch like the vertical bands.  Given how close my two colors were to each other, I think this would help those solid bands stand out a bit more.

I am frustrated by my photos of this project most especially, because I feel that the colors aren’t really true – in real life, you really can see the distinct rows of semisolid and variegated – but I do love the colors so much. The semisolid really tones down some of the wilder parts of the variegated without overwhelming it too much.

 

The shape of Clockwork is also fantastic. I don’t really wear triangular, rectangular or circular shawls – I find they are a bit difficult to style and often cumbersome.  This one, however, drapes so nicely! It is maybe not so versatile as some bigger shawls might be, but it makes up for it in its awesomeness.

However, the shape made it decidedly difficult to block! I tried using some blocking wires and doing some gentle tugging and smoothing but I am still not perfectly happy with the implementation of my blocking.  This is definitely something I need to work on!!

Of course, living in Seattle, since I finished this on June 3rd, we had several days that were chilly enough that I could wear this – and I love it! I can’t wait for autumn to come around again so I can have it as a wardrobe staple.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. girlymomknits permalink*
    July 10, 2012 6:21 am

    You should get some of those flexible blocking wires that curve nicely and then review them for us.

    • July 10, 2012 3:52 pm

      I have them! (er, I have Judy’s set… still…) but I don’t find they curve that nicely. I think I need to learn how to use them.

      • girlymomknits permalink*
        July 10, 2012 3:57 pm

        There is a new, really bendy kind. You can use them to block circles. Are you sure she doesn’t just have the flexible kind?

  2. July 11, 2012 4:49 pm

    Oh. Hm, I guess they are just flexible

Leave a Reply

