Skip to content

I’m Camping, And So Are They

May 30, 2012
tags:
by

Monday’s progress

My sixth grade students headed off to Science Camp this week – at one school, they left at 8am on Tuesday and at my other school they left at 8.30am today – so I think it is only fitting that I am camping, too! The students will return on Friday, and while I don’t think I will be finished by then, I think there’s a good chance I might finish by the end of the weekend!

I did all of my prep on Saturday but wasn’t able to share it here due to a computer issue (fried hard drive, anyone?) resulting in my husband borrowing my laptop.  I wound two of my three skeins of yarn, saving the second main color skein just in case I don’t end up needing it.

Winding the contrast color

Camp Loopy 2012 officially started on Sunday, and I met up with a few friends at our local Panera for a little knitting and a lot of visiting.  That afternoon, while running errands, I discovered a flat tire (and I hadn’t even brought my knitting!) which was kind of annoying and time-consuming.  I made good progress though, completing about half of the repeats of Section 1 by the end of the day.

Yarn cakes, ready to go!

Monday, I had to tutor in the morning and have dinner with the inlaws in the evening, but I still got some knitting done – finishing all of the Section 1 repeats.

Tuesday, I had to get the flat tire fixed (thank you, Les Schwab, for quickly fixing the tire – and replacing it! – for FREE!), which kind of cut into my knitting time. I still managed to finish the center band in the main color and a couple of repeats of Section 2. Each row is SO MUCH LONGER than they used to be!

Today, I was able to complete through the sixth repeat of Section 2. I also finally uploaded the photos in this post, which were taken on Saturday, Sunday and Monday.  I had an hour or two to knit today and made it through the sixth repeat of Section 2 – only about 30 rows to go! Not too bad, eh?

I am just as much in love with the yarn, pattern and needles as I was at the start and I can’t wait to tell you more about each one over the next few days!

I know that some of you have had some Camping setbacks, which are unavoidable at any summer camp, but I hope that recovery is straightforward and things go well from here on out!  (Jen, if it’s any consolation, I remember having a very similar debate about my own Abalone.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2012 11:11 pm

    Well, good to know I wasn’t alone in all my second guessing. And I’ve been able to swap condolences with some canoe-mates, which helps. :-)

  2. Rhonnie permalink
    May 31, 2012 6:10 am

    Yay!!!!!! It’s looking so beautiful!! :)

    I finally got mine started yesterday :) Am through the waistband (it’s a skirt for L) and moving right along :)

Leave a Reply

