Skip to content

At the Summit for a friend.

May 25, 2012

It has been a long week. I have had some hard things to do, and needed some easy knitting to get me through it. I decided to knit a Stripe Study shawl, using the most cheerful yarn in my stash, Yarn Love Diana in Forget me Not and Marigold. The yarn itself is lovely, with a noticeable twist that seems to add to the softness, unlike some other yarns that show their twist off in wormlike segments. I love it. (Don’t forget to check out Katie’s Etsy shop when looking for some of this yarn.)

The colours were just what I needed. Bright enough to see to knit in the shadows of my parents family room, cheerful enough to help me remember that there is such a thing as silver linings, and friendly enough to be welcoming and happy to be knit. Yes. Colours can say all those things.

The pattern is very clever. I am impressed by the way the designer, Veera Valimaki, planned it out, using 2 colours in nice bold stripes but planning it so that there are only 4 ends to weave in at the end. I missed an important note in the directions in my very distracted state, and so my stripes are wider than intended, but I decided to leave it and just keep going once I realized it because it will help me to remember someone who I don’t ever want to forget. I will take more pictures once it is dry, but for now, I hope you enjoy the blocking and WIP photos.

What to knit next? Well. I am only a few cm from the end of a pair of plain vanilla socks using Miss Babs Go Dawgs colourway, and it was my plan to finish those up tonight. But then I thought of my friend Trisha. She was diagnosed with Crohns the other day, and she goes for a scope to confirm this on Monday at 1:30. So my new plan is to knit her a pair of At the Summit socks, in pink, because that is her favorite, and have them ready for her to wear to the appointment. I don’t know if I will make it, but I am going to try.

So, the details are Three Irish Girls Kells sport in Alana, and 1.75mm needles. Who wants to along with me? You don’t have to finish by Monday at 1:30, or use the same sized needles as I do, but maybe we can motivate each other to finish. As always, the proceeds of every copy of At the Summit sold go to the Crohn’s and Colitis foundation of America.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rhonnie permalink
    May 25, 2012 6:42 pm

    I love your stripe study shawl and how it being a bit different from the pattern will remind you of that special person!!!

    I’m so sorry for what your friend is dealing with and think you are awesome for doing the socks for her!!

    • girlymomknits permalink*
      May 26, 2012 12:34 pm

      Thanks Rhonnie. I hate the idea of doing nothing, you know?

Leave a Reply

