Skip to content

Emergency Hat

May 15, 2012

A few weeks ago, Audrey emailed that she had an emergency. She needed to knit a baby hat right away, and it needed to be special. She looked on Ravelry, and found so many good choices that it was hard to narrow down. The hat she liked best was crochetted, but I looked at it and thought, Hey. I know a lace pattern that will give that same feeling. So the Emergency hat was born. I have knit 4 of these in the last week and a half, and each one was fun. Sized from baby to adult, this is the perfect go to pattern for last minute gift giving.

Use leftover bits of Kells Sport or Marianne Dashwood or other sport weight yarn to make any of the three versions and sizes. It is very possible to knit this hat up in a movie or two, and my sons keep insisting that it is a unisex pattern.

 

 

 

Available on Ravelry and Craftsy for $4.

You may have noticed that the hat is sized for babies, but I don’t have a picture of it on a baby. This is because I don’t have one, or easy access to one! So here is my little contest. Knit one of these hats for your baby, take the best pictures you can, and post it on Ravelry, on your blog, on Craftsy, on Twitter, wherever you like to post your photos. I will keep track, and the best photo, as decided by the members of TAAT,  will win a skein of either Marianne Dashwood or Kells sport, your choice. Entries must be posted by Aug 1 to be considered for the prize. Send me a comment on this blog post telling me where to find your photo. Everyone is eligeable except members of TAAT. The winning photo will be posted on this blog, and on the pattern pages on Ravelry and Craftsy, so please consider carefully if you are ok with that before you enter. To be considered, babies must actually be babies, not toddlers, although I really want to see those pictures too! Let’s make the cut off at a year old, just to make it simple. Thanks, and good luck!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Rhonnie permalink
    May 15, 2012 9:05 am

    Pretty hat Trisha!!! :)

  2. May 15, 2012 9:21 am

    I am babyless myself right now so I can’t enter, but that’s a really cute hat!

    • girlymomknits permalink*
      May 15, 2012 9:22 am

      You can enter if you can find a baby to model!

      • May 15, 2012 9:28 am

        Ha – that’s actually what I meant. Believe it or not, I don’t know anyone nearby with a baby (except a fellow knitter). :-)

      • girlymomknits permalink*
        May 15, 2012 9:59 am

        I understand that completely. I only know one small baby, and his poor mother is so harried I don’t dare ask her.

      • May 15, 2012 4:59 pm

        Jen, Baby Andrew makes the BEST model!! When he is in the mood for it anyway :P

Trackbacks

  1. A real Emergency. Hat. « TAAT Designs

Leave a Reply

