Skip to content

Let the Waiting Begin…

May 14, 2012
tags:
by

My Camp Loopy order arrived today! Now I just have to wait patiently for 5/27. Luckily for me, 5/27 is the Sunday before my husband takes a big professional exam, and so he will be studying most of the day, so I will have lots of time for me to knit! 5/28 is Memorial Day Monday, a day off work for me which means lots of time to knit. 5/29 – 6/1 is Sixth Grade Camp week at both of my schools, which means I have a modified schedule and a lot less planning and grading which means (are you sensing a theme yet?) lots of time to knit!  Then my husband has his exam on Saturday 6/2 (lots of time to knit for me), and promptly departs for a weeklong business trip.  ALSO lots of time to knit.

I am so stoked about the serendipitous timing this year. Last year’s Camp Loopy dates were a little challenging for me. I do anticipate a bit of a time crunch if the first two weeks of Camp Project 1 don’t go as planned, due to end-of-school insanity, but I will keep fingers crossed it doesn’t come to that.

Now, on to the part you have been waiting for – my goodies!

Let me just say, I love the new Thank You stickers that Loopy Ewe have. Sometimes I think the Loopy logo things are a little bit silly, but I really like the stickers. I tried to take one off to stick on my knitting binder but alas, no luck. The needles came wrapped up in their own fold of tissue paper; the yarn was nicely wrapped as well and they included a Camp Loopy pin (I definitely get the impression that Camp Loopy has been incredibly well thought out this year, whereas last year it was more of a new idea).

The haul: Moon for the Misbegotten and Beyond the Horizon on Three Irish Girls Glenhaven Fingering, Hiya Hiya US 0 DPNs (which I fell in love with at Sock Summit last year, when a dear friend bought me a pair to use in Round Two of the Fastest Knitter competition, after I suspected that magic-looping was slowing me down), and a Hiya Hiya US 2 bamboo circular in a 40″ length, so I can stop dropping body stitches of my Gnarled Oak cardigan off the ends of the 24″ circular I am currently using.

I ordered these two colors on the advice of The Yarnista herself, after asking her to help me choose between a couple of different color combinations. Since I plan to knit Steven West’s Clockwork, I am a little bit nervous about the highly variegated nature of the Beyond the Horizon, but I think it will be okay in the end. There are some examples of Clockwork shawls knit with highly variegated yarn for the contrast color on Ravelry, and I do like that look, even though it isn’t quite the same as the very striking original.  I definitely plan to knit Clockwork (or maybe Arroway or Thendara) using contrasting semi-solids in the future, but for Camp I love the idea of a sort of wild version of an otherwise sedate pattern!  I am keeping Arroway in my pocket as a back-up in case I just don’t love how the Clockwork is turning out, but I’m optimistic that it will be just fine :)

(By the way, don’t you just love how this knitter is wearing her Clockwork?)

On a final note, my biggest concern about these colorways was that they wouldn’t go together – I like my variegated to have something in common with my semisolid – but you can tell from this photo that they do have that beautiful teal-turquoise-pretty color in common.

This color reminds me a lot of the car color that was popular a few years ago, it was sort of not purple but not green, and it shimmered a lot and sort of changed color depending on the angle that you look at it.  Do you know the one I mean? Anyway, that’s what I think of when I see these colors.

Now that I have my yarn, I am even more excited for Camp Loopy 2012 to start. I just have to clear my knitting plate in the next couple of weeks to make room for the excitement!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rhonnie permalink
    May 14, 2012 8:09 pm

    Pretty pretty pretty!!! :)
    I can’t wait to see that all knit up – I think it will be gorgeous!! :)

    I got ship notice on my yarn but it will probably have to fwd to the new house, I hope that doesn’t delay me getting it too long.

  2. May 14, 2012 8:47 pm

    Thanks to your post, I realized I hadn’t looked at my Camp Loopy package closely enough – I had a pin too! Also, a very nice little needle inventory chart to carry with me. I’m loving this Tosh Vintage, and the color is so perfect. I really think it’s going to go with pretty much everything I usually wear. Um, and since I love blues and greens, if those colors don’t work out for you… ;-)

Leave a Reply

