Skip to content

A Temporary Solution

April 29, 2012
by

In my previous post, I mentioned a Secret Project.  I have a lot of these going on at any one moment, and most of them are really, truly secret. This one is not actually a top-secret-secret, I’ve just been keeping it secret from a certain someone.  I have more to say about the Secret Project, which I will share once a certain someone has received it, but in the meantime I thought I’d share the temporary solution to blocking a large object I devised today.

This secret project is made with superwash yarn, and so I let it soak in a little woolwash and water in the tub of my washing machine today.

Once it had had a nice bath, I ran the gentle spin cycle of my machine to get the water out. However, I find this doesn’t do a fantastically wonderful job of getting ALL of the water out of a knitted item this large. When I pulled it out of the machine it was still a fairly sopping mess.  Far too wet for me to spread it out to dry, even with a sheet of plastic underneath it and a fan blowing over it.  It would take DAYS to dry, and I don’t have a big enough condo to give up this much real estate for days while waiting for it to dry!

So, I came up with this solution. I’ve carefully draped it over the curtain rod of our spare bathroom, and laid towels on the floor-side of the bathtub to catch the drips. I gently tugged it into alignment as well as I could manage given the constraints, and there it will remain for at least a few hours and possibly overnight, until it has stopped dripping.  I’ll change the floor-side towels once or twice as needed, and then once it has become “damp” rather than “dripping”, I’ll lay it out and block it properly to finish its drying.

I sure hope this works!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Rhonnie permalink
    April 29, 2012 5:17 pm

    Ohh I like that idea :)
    Another idea is to roll it into a towel and walk on it….that will get a lot of the water out too :)

    • April 29, 2012 5:40 pm

      Rhonnie I have done that before, but I don’t have very many big towels so I wasn’t sure how that would work for this.. hm..

  2. girlymomknits permalink*
    April 29, 2012 6:17 pm

    Make sure you turn it a few times so that if the weight of the heavy wet fabric stretches it out, it will stretch evenly. I suggest turning it to a diamond shape next time, and then to another square, so 45 degrees each time.

    • April 30, 2012 7:56 am

      Good plan! I turned it twice yesterday and I will go turn it to a diamond right now!

  3. May 10, 2017 5:23 am

    Although I agree that Ma2c8nald&#oD17;s needs to take some responsibilty in this problem, marketing only works if kids see it. Therefore, you can still blame parents for allowing children to watch too much TV and movies, and playing on the computer.

Trackbacks

  1. The Conclusion of a Secret Project « TAAT Designs

Leave a Reply

