Skip to content

Obsessed? Me? Never!

April 22, 2012
by

It’s been awhile! Sorry about that.  I’m not teaching full time and yet somehow it is a full-time job. I am trying some new things during 4th quarter to try to bring back a work-life balance – wish me luck!

At Madrona, I saw copies of Coastal Knits everywhere.  However, I wasn’t in a book-buying (or much-of-anything-buying) state of mind, so I didn’t do more than glance at the pretty cover. What a mistake!

Last week, while I was at Trisha’s house for spring break (more on that another day), I was browsing Ravelry for a pattern to use with some beautiful DK weight yarn I have had for a couple of months now.  I’d knitted a swatch and found my gauge, so instead of searching for generic DK patterns I was just searching for patterns using this specific gauge. The beautiful Gnarled Oak cardigan came up, and I fell in love. Not only did it match my stitch gauge but it also matched my row gauge – almost unheard of for me! I knew right away that I needed to knit this sweater.

Unfortunately, the pattern isn’t available online so I wasn’t able to start then and there – but that was okay because I still had a secret project to finish (ahem. I still do. Shhhh.).  I chose to order the book directly from the authors’ website, and it arrived at my house on Wednesday, packaged very nicely with a sturdy piece of cardboard to keep it in pristine condition. Tucked inside the book was a lovely postcard and a buy-one-get-one-free coupon for each of the authors’ pattern stores (Knitbot and Never Not Knitting).

In addition to the Gnarled Oak cardigan, I can see myself knitting almost every one of the designs in here. It’s a beautifully done book, with gorgeous photography and layout, and I am just amazed that it is self-published.

Every detail of the book is well thought out, down to the schematics (click “view schematics” on the pattern page for an example) and the addition of an “AD” or “HF” watermark on each pattern to indicate who authored each one.  Each pattern has pages of explanation and maps to show the locations that inspired the authors.

I cast on for my Gnarled Oak on Thursday during a release day at work (I got a lot of work accomplished too, honest!) and finished the first sleeve that night.  Friday and Saturday saw me cast on for and finish the second sleeve, and today I cast on for the body of the cardigan.  I’m following the pattern exactly as written, with one exception – I don’t care for cardigans that are too tight around the hips, so I cast on for the next size up’s body hem and will put in a few extra waist decreases to bring it down my size in the bust.  As I had expected, the body is d-r-a-g-g-i-n-g for me (stockinette worked flat has never been a favorite of mine) but I’m still excited to continue making progress and eventually have a finished sweater :)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Rhonnie permalink
    April 22, 2012 9:43 pm

    Ohhhh! Isn’t that a fabulous book of patterns? It is on my eventually must by list :)
    Can’t wait to see your sweater!!!

    • April 28, 2012 7:08 pm

      I love it so much more than I ever thought I would!! Out of 10 patterns I can see myself knitting 8 of them.

Trackbacks

  1. A Temporary Solution « TAAT Designs
  2. The Conclusion of a Secret Project « TAAT Designs
  3. Let the Waiting Begin… « TAAT Designs
  4. Camp Loopy Project Two « TAAT Designs

Leave a Reply

