Skip to content

Ode to Carson and Kate

February 14, 2012

Have I mentioned how much I love the Three Irish Girls colorways Kate and Carson?

Because I kind of do. When Sharon first introduced the Carson colorway, it was paired with a coordinating (?) colorway, Aidan. The colorways were created at the request of a customer who wanted yarn to match some great fabric she’d found.

I found it fascinating to read about and see the process Sharon goes through when creating a colorway from start to finish and I was immediately curious to know what the customer’s finished items would look like. My second thought was that I really, really liked Carson.  So much so that I commented on the blog post, saying:

“I LOVE that blue one. It’s gorgeous. The green one’s okay but that blue one is spectacular.

Is blue a particularly difficult color to work with?

What do you do with your color swatches?”

Looking back at my 2008-self, I am a little embarrassed that I called Aiden just “okay”.  I really like Aidan too! However, Sharon was kind enough to graciously overlook my not-quite-so-enthusiastic endorsement of her new colorways and answer my questions. She shared that “…blue is not one of the harder colors, in my opinion. But any dark color is harder on untreated yarn. It’s much harder to get dark inky blue on untreated yarn than on a superwash.

I obsessively save all my swatches. All my practice yarn, all my ruined yarn… I have a giant yarn graveyard down at the shop.”

A few years later I was lucky enough to visit the Three Irish Girls studio and had a chance to see the yarn graveyard in person. I can attest that it is full of practice yarn, not-quite-right yarn, sample yarn, etc. It’s really fun to look through and try to identify prior incarnations of current colorways!

Shortly after the release of Carson and Aiden I decided to order a skein of each on Beckon, a superwash sock yarn. I liked what I received, but it wasn’t exactly what I wanted. You can see below that the colors in both Carson and Aiden are MUCH more vivid, much brighter, deeper, richer on the superwash base compared to Lindon Merino (non-superwash).

I kept waiting for the day when I would have an excuse to order some Carson (and maybe Aiden) on a non-superwash base – and was super excited when a certain someone announced that she was expecting. It gave me the perfect excuse to get yarn for longies! I decided to get a girlish color and a boyish color, and my mind went immediately to Carson.  The combination of blues and browns just shouts out to me, and it seems like a really versatile colorway in terms of finding other clothes to coordinate with it.  I selected Kate as the girlish color because it followed the “brown” theme, and it is a bright, fun colorway with lots of coordinating possibilities.

These longies were a super quick knit and I was reminded of how much I enjoy knitting for babies – they are so tiny that it takes next to no yarn and almost no time! Each pair of longies took less than one skein of yarn and less than a week to finish, including weaving in ends and making the braided ties, definitely a quick knit.  Now I just wait to find out whether this certain someone will be getting the Kate longies or the Carson ones, and tuck the other pair away for another day – it seems that I’ve reached that age where one friend or another is having a baby every month or so, so it won’t be long before I have a use for the other pair!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rhonnie permalink
    February 14, 2012 4:44 pm

    I wondered!! When I saw her post your longies immediately popped into my head and I wondered :)
    How fun! :)

    • February 14, 2012 8:01 pm

      :)

    • May 10, 2017 5:14 am

      Bonjour CGV FNAC : Le chèque-cadeau Fnac est valable en magasin ou sur fnac.com pour un achat de plus de 10€, hors livres , coffrets et cartes cadeaux, tirages photo, cartes de téléphonie, abonnements téÃe©phoniquls et Internet, billetterie et voyage. Aucune précision sur la durée de validité.Par contre, cette offre s’arrête ce soir a minuit

Leave a Reply

