Skip to content

Rrrrriiiiiiippppppp…

February 7, 2012
by

I’m knitting my own pattern. One I’ve knit several times quite successfully.  I’ve knit the skirted version three times and the longies-only version at least four times.

I designed Object of My Affection several years ago, after looking for just the right skirty to make for a friend’s baby. That baby is now three-and-a-half years old – how time flies! Anyway, it took me awhile to put together the write-up and do the grading, and I had just decided to self-publish the pattern when Sharon at Three Irish Girls put out a call for designs.  Since I knit this pattern in her yarn and know that she got her start as a Yarnista in the cloth-diapering-yarn-world (and still has a loyal following there) I thought it would be a good fit for her call – so I submitted it to the call.  Then I had to wait to hear if it would be accepted, then I had to wait for the yarn to knit the samples, then I had to wait for the pattern/Lookbook to be released… the end result was that the pattern was only released just over a year ago.

Since then, I haven’t actually knit any more skirties or longies.

It seems that ignoring the pattern except to check how many stitches to cast on and where to start the gusset wasn’t really the brightest idea.

I’m about to rip back 13 rounds because I wasn’t actually following the pattern.  Oops.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 7, 2012 8:19 pm

    Maybe your brain was just trying to design something on its own. ;-) See, not a mistake – a new design feature!

Leave a Reply

