Skip to content

Ch-ch-ch-changes!

February 1, 2012
by

Today was the end of first semester, tomorrow marks the start of second semester at my school (it was pushed back three days due to our three snow days two weeks ago). My assignment has changed; instead of teaching 6th grade math periods 1,2,3 at TMS and 6th grade math period 7 OMS, I’ll be teaching 7th grade math period 3, 6th grade math support period 4 and 7th grade math support period 5 at TMS, and then 6th grade math period 7 at OMS.  I’m grateful my OMS (7th period) class is staying the same, and I’m grateful for more work now that my first-semester maternity cover contract is up, but it is like the start of the year all over again – I’m having first-day-of-school jitters!

So, to cheer me up, I thought I’d share a picture of a project I finished recently. If you know my feelings on handpainted yarns, you might be a little surprised by this picture.

It’s a pair of longies(Ravelry Link) from Three Irish Girls Galenas Merino in Carson (pattern: Object of My Affection, with ribbed drawstring waistband, short rows, no skirt and seed stitch cuffs). I knit the waistband and half of the body in a dark car on the way up to our ski cabin two weekends ago and had no idea how or if the yarn was pooling.  I kept telling myself three things:

1) they aren’t for me.

2) the recipient likes pooling

3) they are for a BABY. Who is still floating in a blissful state unaware of what is in store for him (or her). Who doesn’t even know what a pool is, let alone “pooling”.  The BABY won’t care.

So, when we got to the cabin and I had a chance to look at how the yarn was behaving in the light, I was only a little bit bummed – I had hoped for a little less dramatic FLASHING. But really? I decided it would be okay. So I left them as-is and kept on knitting.

I finished these in just a few hours of knitting that weekend although it took me until this Sunday to finally do the finish work of grafting and weaving in ends.  Now I just have to make another pair (this time in Kate), so that the recipient can just go ahead and have a girl-baby OR a boy-baby. Not that a girl couldn’t wear Carson, and a boy couldn’t wear Kate, but I like to hedge my bets. I wouldn’t want anyone of accusing me of jinxing the thing, after all.

In fact, I think that’s just what I’ll do next – it’s the perfect relax-before-the-“first”-day-of-school evening activity!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rhonnie permalink
    February 2, 2012 7:49 am

    Cute!!!
    And go you! :) The Kate ones will be gorgeous too!! :)

    Happy “first day” to you today!!!! :)

    • February 4, 2012 1:32 pm

      Thanks!! It went well, but Friday was a different story.. ah well, it’s the weekend now!

Trackbacks

  1. An Adventure in Pooling « TAAT Designs

Leave a Reply

