Skip to content

Winter is FINALLY Here!

January 24, 2012
by

After some kind of crazy not-very-wintery weather, winter finally arrived in a big way here in the Pacific Northwest.  We had a late start and three snow days last week – highly unusual for our area (we only had two days set aside in our district calendar, so we are hoping the state forgives one of the days!). Unfortunately, the unexpected days off brought with them an unexpected cold that has knocked me flat. I’m just starting to feel my usual self again.

The cold weather and our upcoming mid-winter break trip to Alaska have reminded me of the knitter’s curse – the lack of coordinating/matching head-and-handwear.  A few years ago I traded with a friend – I knit her a pair of socks, and she knit me a hat/scarf/mittens.

The socks were knit out of Three Irish Girls Beckon Merino in the lovely Elsbeth colorway – which has sadly since been discontinued – and I am reminded of how much I enjoyed knitting with yarn that reminded me of strawberry ice cream with hot fudge sauce.

(pattern: Carinish Socks)

I still have the hat/mittens/scarf set, knit in Three Irish Girls Carys BFL in Pewter Amethyst and Smoky Quartz, and I’ve knit fingerless mitts to go with out of Three Irish Girls Finley Fingering in Pewter Amethyst, but none of my other cold-weather gear matches in any way. I think I’d better get working on that!!

(pattern: Porphyria)

What does YOUR cold-weather gear look like? Do you coordinate? Match? Clash terribly?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Rhonnie permalink
    January 24, 2012 7:38 pm

    Ummm, no winter gear here…I should really work on that, lol :)

    • January 25, 2012 9:33 pm

      I love knitting hats and mitts/mittens, but scarves not so much… so I only have the one my friend made!

    • May 10, 2017 4:56 am

      Hi I am so excited I found your weblog, I really found you by accident, while I was looking on Bing for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a incredible post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the thnde/mesige), I don抰 have time to read it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the superb work.

    • May 20, 2017 10:13 am

      So I know this was posted a couple weeks ago, but thanks for posting this! We just talked about getting my ring insured so it’s good to know!Also, whereabouts in WI are you? I’m about an hour from Jim Kryshak Jewelers!

  2. January 25, 2012 4:48 am

    I actually just finished a red hat/cowl/mitten set to go with the new coat I bought on Boxing Day. The coat I’ve had for nearly three years, however? Has nothing that matches it.

    I have a hat and mitts made out of the same yarn, but the mitts are the Bella’s Mitts and they’re just not practical for the weather here–they’re too long and too hard to get on and off quickly when you’re wearing a bulky ski jacket.

    Rhiannon

    • January 25, 2012 9:30 pm

      I have a pair of Bella’s Mittens that I love but I agree with you that they aren’t super practical here. I was thinking about making them with a shorter cuff, but I kind of love the cuff. Sigh.

      • May 10, 2017 5:23 am

        I think the results are a victory for CITOCATE, or rather, a coruxenetample — Republicans insulated themselves from criticism, and did not get what they expected. Gerrymandering does the same.I expect the 'true' Republicans to become more pure and get increasingly higher percentages of the old, rural, white, male vote, unless they open themselves up to and act upon criticism from young, non-white, urban, or female citizens.

      • May 28, 2017 10:44 pm

        Thanks Michelle… thats my granddaughter Amelia, taken on Christmas day the year before last (in a warm climate!)I thought your advice to Anne to take up a pen and draw is a perfect option. It's a chance to focus on something else… even if its just the pattern inside a cut pomegranate!

  3. guinevere permalink
    January 25, 2012 6:47 pm

    I have a nicely coordinating set of Genmaicha mitts and Bakersfield shawl (which serves as a scarf) in Bountiful on Kells and a cute Bel Cloche from a CY variegated which matches; that is the best I have right now. Being fierce orange, they don’t look right with all my coats though – like my scarlet wool coat. (Yikes!!)
    I have other hats, mitts, and scarves, but nothing else coordinates. I’ve cast on for a hat with yarn left over from mitts, so at some point I’ll have that set – not soon though, it is my travel project, so only gets worked on sporadically.
    I’m working on Straightforward Mitts in Estuary, part of a planned set – this mitt pattern was designed to go with Herbivore Shawl and Windschief Hat by Stephen West, and I’ve got more Estuary put aside for them, so at some unknown future point, I intend to have a complete Estuary set. Heaven only knows when!

    • January 25, 2012 9:30 pm

      Oh, how I love Estuary! That set sounds especially lovely :)

Leave a Reply

