Skip to content

Build My Knitting Library (and other miscellany)

December 2, 2011
by

Somehow our replace-the-floors project turned into replace-the-baseboards and then replace-the-bookcases and a month later we still aren’t put  back together. Adding in parent-teacher conferences (three nights between my two schools), a Thanksgiving break and the start of ski season has really cut back on the amount of time I’ve been able to devote to the project.  We are finally making good progress however which has led to the discovery that I have some extra bookshelf space!!

BookcaseInstead of two taller bookcases we now have three of these shorter bookcases. It’s hard to tell that they are shorter in this picture, you will just have to trust me on that. Due to the need to match book height to shelf height and my insistence that the shelves be at the same height on all three bookcases, my knitting books are now split across two shelves, and my knitting bins between two other shelves, but the end result is not unpleasing.  In this photo you can see one of our lovely new (purchased on sale with free shipping from Target.com) bookcases. The bottom shelf houses some scrapbooks my “knitting notions” bin and my “random papers” file along with my sock blockers (purchased from Twisted at Sock Summit 2009). The middle shelf has my yarn-to-use-soonly (cream) and yarn-to-destash (brown) bins along with my Knitpicks binders and my shorter knitting books. The top shelf has my husband’s and my old yearbooks, some miscellaneous tall nonfiction books and then my taller knitting books and magazines.

This arrangement is somewhat pleasing to me, although it kind of bothers me that my knitting books aren’t all side by side anymore, nor are they sorted by an easy-to-identify theme as they were before.

In my mind, the obvious solution to this is to buy more books. So – hit me with your best suggestions! I mentioned two new books in a recent post, but I must admit that my collection is kind of skimpy in general. I lean toward “how-to” and stitch collections versus pattern collections, but am open to anything really.  Available from Barnes & Noble or Amazon preferred.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Allison permalink*
    December 3, 2011 1:29 pm

    I’d recommend…
    The Barbara Walker Treasuries, especially 1 and 2.
    A couple Japanese Stitch Dictionaries (available from YesAsia.com)
    The three Clara Parkes books (The Knitters Book of Yarn, Book of Wool, Book of Socks)
    Custom Knits

    I’ve heard the original Principles of Knitting is amazing…and the new version is coming out soonly.

    I’ll have to see if I can think of any more…

Leave a Reply

