Skip to content

Hello, My Pretties!

November 20, 2011
by

I needed to pick up some Cascade 220 for a design swatch/sample, and rather than paying shipping I decided to venture out to my LYS, Serial Knitters.  Of course, once there I couldn’t stop at just three skeins of C220!

First up, two books.  Serial Knitters have a great book consignment program and I love to snap up the bargains!

I am especially excited about these books because I got them each for about 50% off the cover price, in nice hardcover editions.  I love hardcover knitting books because they lay open better than soft cover ones. I’ve had my eye on Knitting Over the Edge for ages; my copy of Knitting Beyond the Edge is well-loved.  Cables Untangled has some really interesting closed-cable stitches that I can’t wait to explore in more detail.

No trip to the yarn shop would be complete without the purchase of yarn – I am super excited that Serial Knitters carry Three Irish Girls yarn. Today, I snapped up these gorgeous skeins of Springvale Bulky (the softest, squooshiest, lightest bulky yarn I’ve used – it really is amazing) in Ryan and Molly.  I would not have said these two colorways go together until I saw them in person, and now I can’t wait to combine them in any way imaginable.  These skeins, however, had a specific purpose. I wanted to knit Trisha’s new hat-and-mitten patterns, Leanne hat and Leanne mittens, for my mother for Christmas.  I finished the mittens today (photos to come once the sun returns) and it turns out I love them so much, I’m keeping them for myself – guess I’d better get some more yarn for Mom’s set!

In addition, I picked up two pair of my favorite KA bamboo circular needles (I need to get myself a full set of the interchangeables one of these days…) and another skein of Springvale Bulky in Eavan, a colorway I have been drooling over ever since it first came out.  I don’t have specific plans for this skein, but it was the only one left and it just kept calling my name…  any suggestions?

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Trisha permalink
    November 20, 2011 9:48 pm

    The Eavan is calling out to you, because he wants you to send him to me!! Yay!!

  2. Amy Kenagy permalink
    November 20, 2011 9:48 pm

    No suggestion for the yarn but a huge encouragement to get the KA interchangeable set. . .I have them and love them

    • November 21, 2011 4:13 pm

      Which ones do you have? I got a cable and some tips at SS to try, but couldn’t decide between sets…

      • Amy K. permalink
        November 21, 2011 4:51 pm

        I have the KA Classic Switch but I’ve supplemented with a few of the smaller tips, too. . .I really like them, even though I’m not normally a bamboo needle girl. Nice and slick without being too slippery. . .and the swivel join – swoon! It’s lovely. I bought mine from someone getting rid of them on Rav for $40, but they would be worth the full price tag even, in my opinion. No keys like the KP ones. . .http://www.paradisefibers.net/KA-Classic-Bamboo-Switch-Exchangable-Circular-Need-p/464894.htm

Leave a Reply

