Skip to content

Gauge Swatches Lie!

November 11, 2011
by

I recently knit a wee sweater as a prototype for a design that’s been swirling around in my head using Three Irish Girls Lindon Merino. After having a look at the finished object, I’d like to make a few changes and I’d also like to try it out in some different yarns – so I’m giving it another go in Three Irish Girls Glenhaven Worsted. Obviously it’s providing a different feel and type of sweater but I’m excited to have such a luxurious finished object.

However, my gauge swatch totally lied.  I swatched and found that I was getting 5 spi on the needles I wanted to use. Great, thought I, since I want this piece to measure X inches across, I can just cast on 5 * X stitches and be on my merry way.

Alas, it wasn’t to be.  I’m a full inch short of what I was hoping for – and I swear I measured gauge over 4 full inches!  Darn.  I guess it’s time to rip out and try again. I’ll get there eventually…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Patty permalink
    November 11, 2011 2:33 pm

    Never trust the swatch! Can’t wait to see the new design!

  2. Marina permalink
    November 16, 2011 4:50 pm

    I’m so glad to read this post! My last swatch was a disaster… ;-)

Leave a Reply

