Skip to content

And the remodel continues…

November 10, 2011
by


The bamboo floors are in – hooray! It only took them one day, which is super exciting. I snapped a couple of pictures during my quick stop home after work before going to the Warren Miller film (winter is HERE, baby!) before it was quite finished, but I’m really pleased with it overall. We did decide that we DON’T want to reuse the previous baseboards, because they really detract from the pretty new floors.

In the process of having the floors put down, we’ve decided it’s also time to replace the (frequently broken and always annoying) laundry room doors. It’s been on the list but now seems like the time to do it. I spent much of my day off today at the hardware store investigating baseboard and doors and weighing the pros and cons of different options.

Aside from the deep red accent wall, the other walls that meet the new flooring are off-white. There’s also a lot of other wood tones involved in the window sills, furniture and kitchen cabinetry. Combining that with the multi-colored bamboo makes it hard to pick a wood tone for the baseboard (not to mention that solid wood baseboard is super expensive) so we’ve decided on a plain white 3″ “colonial” baseboard. It should look nice without being too overwhelming – when I went to the hardware store I’d been thinking about a really dramatic 4″ square-edge baseboard but after thinking more carefully about the space I think that would be too much. We do have an awful lot of furniture covering up the walls, too, so in many places the baseboard will just be covered up.

After spending most of my day at the hardware store and car dealership (another story for another day, but the long-story-short is that on top of getting new floors this week we also bought a car), I was really excited to come home and do some knitting. I have some tech editing waiting for me but instead I’m going to pick up my Glenhaven Cashmerino Worsted and knit until my husband gets home and we can start shifting some furniture back into the living & dining rooms :)

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 3, 2014 7:55 am

    Hi there! I know this is kind of off topic but I
    was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with
    hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would
    be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

Leave a Reply

