Skip to content

Sample Knitting and Test Knitting

November 5, 2011
by

I am excited to have more sample/test knitting and tech editing to do this week – it’s terribly exciting to have projects chosen for me!

When I’m test knitting, I sometimes have a bit of a quandary… I am torn between following the pattern exactly as written, and trying to think about whether the directions make sense before knitting the next section. I hate to frog and re-knit, so spotting mistakes in advance saves a lot of grief.  Usually the designer has a reason for doing things in a nonstandard way but I just like to check…

However, I think poor Trisha is getting awfully tired of me asking her why she wrote her pattern the way she did. Perhaps I should be doing more knitting and less thinking! ;)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy K. permalink
    November 5, 2011 10:22 pm

    I just recently test knit for Trisha and I, too, worried that she was getting tired of me . . .so you’re not alone. I think it’s the “teacher me” always thinking of ways to improve rather than appreciating the goodness that’s already there. I’m with you :)

    • girlymomknits permalink*
      November 8, 2011 6:48 pm

      That is exactly what makes you a good test knitter. I will never tire of feedback and helpful suggestions, I promise. -Trisha

      • Amy K. permalink
        November 8, 2011 7:11 pm

        And that is what will make you a good pattern writer :) I never got the feeling that you were bothered. . .I just always worry that I’m saying too much.

      • girlymomknits permalink*
        November 8, 2011 10:03 pm

        Of course not. :)

Leave a Reply

