Skip to content

Finally, the other T has come back to the blog!

November 3, 2011
by

(Anyone watch WWE? The Rock? If not, I’m sorry you will not fully appreciate the title of this post.)

So, where were we? Perhaps we should start with an update on my life? An explanation of my absence?

In the summer of 2009, I decided it would be a Great Idea to go back to school, while working full time, so that I could obtain a certificate in Accounting. By the summer of 2010, I decided that a certificate was for silly people and that I was going to get a Bachelor’s of Science in Accounting. I have now earned said degree, with honors. I am in the process of applying for new jobs and will keep you posted.

I have a tremendously long list of things to do that were neglected/postponed until I was finished with school. I began the Year of No in the summer of 2010, and have decided that No is a word I would like to use more often. Even though the Year of No is technically over, I am continuing the trend. Now mostly, though, the Year of No consists of my husband asking, “Do you have homework to do tonight?” and me saying, “NO! I do not!!!” It’s a fun game. I like it a lot.

Since we spoke last I have had several ideas for designs, but none that have reached the status of Worthy of a Blog Post. So instead, we will talk about a few other things.

In the new-and-exciting things in my life category, there is the Nikon D40X, my iPhone, and my new little girl, Hurley. Would you like to see a picture? She’s so cute.

She doesn’t know it yet, but we’re about to take her to the beach. She is going to love it!

The iPhone was a gift from several dear friends to celebrate my graduation. Best. New. Toy. Ever. You should see how hi-tech I’m getting!

The D40X is also terribly exciting. I can’t wait until I really learn how to use it! Until then, I will share the following photos with you from our Mariee photo shoot:

One day, I will understand fully how to work with my camera to make pictures like this amazing (I think that if I understood better what to do with my F Stop, this would help). In the mean time, let’s talk about this photo, shall we? If you will notice, Abigail’s feet are propped against a tree. Said tree was on the side of a well-travelled street in downtown Bellevue. Abi decided that in order to get her feet against the tree, she would lie down on the sidewalk, instead of using my suggestion: yogi-style standing splits. The initial photos were taken with me standing, but she decided that I was missing the beauty of the leaves, so I joined her on the ground, the two of us lying on a sidewalk in the middle of downtown Bellevue, with her feet in a tree. But see how beautiful the leaves were?

We also took this one,

in which Abigail was doing things to the tree that were a bit eye opening. Amazingly, no one honked. However, this series of photos did not make the final cut for the pattern.

We also found a fun staircase across the street and took photos there. It was a bit of a busy staircase, and its users were amused by our taking pictures of socks. Which if you don’t knit, I guess I can see how you wouldn’t get it. My husband finds it highly amusing that the D40X is most often used to take pictures of knitted items and yarn. But really, look at those socks! Don’t you think they’re worthy of a 70-picture photography session?

This pattern was incredibly fun to knit, and not at all complicated like it looks. The entire sock is charted, so you knit it one chart row at a time. I recommend using highlighter tape. One row at a time, and it’s all knit and purl. Sometimes the stitches are “moved” for cables, but you’re still just knitting and purling, and you can do that, right? Look how beautiful your socks will be:

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Veronica permalink
    November 3, 2011 12:05 pm

    Hooray! You’re back! Congrats on the degree! Your doggie is adorable and your pictures look awesome! I like you a lot!

    • Tesia permalink
      November 6, 2011 9:02 am

      Hooray indeed! I like you a lot too!

  2. November 4, 2011 12:37 am

    I completely understand an awesome new camera being used to take awesome pictures of awesome knitting. That’s what they’re for, right?

    The absolute BEST resource I’ve come across for figuring out how to use my camera has been http://www.digital-photography-school.com/. I’ve learned all about f-stops (and a lot more there). If you haven’t gotten yourself a 50mm/1.8f lens yet, I can’t recommend it more highly. And I’m always happy to talk photography! ;-)

  3. Rhonnie permalink
    November 4, 2011 4:09 pm

    Awesome photos!! And funny story to go with.

    Mostly though CONGRATULATIONS!!! :) I’m so happy for you!!! I know that is a lot of hard work (watched my mom do it) so I think you ROCK!!!! :)

    • Tesia permalink
      November 6, 2011 9:04 am

      Thanks, Rhonnie ;) I like you a lot!

Leave a Reply

