Skip to content

A new lament

November 2, 2011

Do you all remember this post from last winter?

Do you remember this labour of love, published by Sanguine Gryphon?

Fulfillment.

That name is beginning to feel so full of irony. At the time, I barely fulfilled my obligation to have the sample to the lovely SG team on time, because of my wrist injury. I cringe looking at the photo above because the stranding is so terrible, due to the injury. And now, weeks after finding out that I would be getting my samples and rights back early because of the dissolving of Sanguine Gryphon to form two new, separate companies, I find that I won’t be getting this bag back. SG is unable to fulfill their promise to return the sample because it went missing at Rhinebeck.

I have seen the photos. I know that the SG booth was crazy busy. I saw it at Sock Summit, both times, I know how popular they are. Deservedly so, their yarn, colourways and costumes are lovely. I know that a lot of people resented the long lines. I know that people will sometimes say things like “I deserve this (insert item here) because I am insulted by the long lineup.” I hope that is not the case here. I hope that someone who felt disgruntled by the wait didn’t take my bag to make up for it. Because I worked hard on this. I spent more money than I should have to embellish it. I knit with a torn tendon and a burst vein in my right wrist, thinking the whole time that it would be worth it when I got it back. I sewed the handles on, poorly, as it turned out, with my non-dominant hand. I have been waiting for the chance to fix them. Please. If you have it, I would really like it back. Please send it back to Sanguine Gryphon, anonymously if you like.

 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2011 11:07 am

    I really hope it turns up for you, losing something that beautiful with that much work in it would be heartbreaking. Come on, whoever has it please give it back! I assume you’ve posted in a few groups on Ravelry and that SG has something on their website about it?

    • girlymomknits permalink*
      November 3, 2011 9:54 pm

      I have posted on Rav, yeah. Thanks for the good wishes.

  2. Kourtney permalink
    November 2, 2011 1:39 pm

    *gasp of sympathy* It’s gone MISSING? Oh, I hope it comes back, that’s terrible!

    • girlymomknits permalink*
      November 3, 2011 9:54 pm

      Thanks do much. I hope it comes back too.

  3. November 2, 2011 6:58 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear that! How awful! (And after so much work/stress/drama went into it, too!) Here’s hoping a nice knitter sees this post and returns it to you ASAP!

    • girlymomknits permalink*
      November 3, 2011 9:55 pm

      I hope so, thanks.

  4. November 6, 2011 4:26 am

    gasp is right, that bag ROCKS. so sorry it “left” you…that stinks. –Beth

Trackbacks

  1. Have You Seen This Bag? « Ripped & Frogged
  2. Have you seen this bag?

Leave a Reply

