Skip to content

Sample Knitting

October 9, 2011
by

In an earlier post, I mentioned that I was doing some sample knitting. The second project I knit a sample for was just released so I can share details!

A couple of months ago, I had a message from my friend Sharon at Three Irish Girls, asking if I could use my Second Fastest Knitter status (from the knitting competition at Sock Summit 2011) to knit a sample for her on short notice.  I was happy to oblige and worked on a pair of slippers for a few days, finishing an adult pair and a single child size just to try it out in another yarn.

Knitting the slippers was an interesting experience. The structure of the slippers was new to me, and since I was knitting the sample, I didn’t have a picture to go off of.  I hadn’t realized before how much I am tempted to rely on the photo of a finished object when knitting!  There were a few times I had questions about the pattern and it was hard to put it down and wait for clarification from the designer before going on!  Oh, Slip was released in August and it’s such a fun pattern (Ravelry link), I am planning to make several pairs for gifts :)

 

After I finished the slippers, next up was working on the samples for my Coquihalla Socks (Ravelry link). This was pretty straightforward – since it was my pattern, I knew what they were meant to look like – but still a bit stressful, knowing that they would be photographed and representative of my pattern!

Then the school year hit hard and fast. As you’ve seen on the blog, I’ve been so busy getting settled in to the new year, I didn’t have much energy  left to think about knitting.  I was really grateful when Sharon offered me the opportunity to knit another pair of sample socks this past month because it meant that I didn’t have to pick yarn, color, pattern, size – I could just knit her pattern!  Sonja was released this week, so I can finally share photos of these beautiful socks, which were just so much fun to knit!

Sample knitting is a crucial part of the design process, and having the experience of sample knitting for another designer has been really great. I’ve learned a lot about following a pattern as written with no clues from photos or the image in my mind of what it should look like!

The best part about sample knitting (and designing) for Sharon, though, is the professional photography that finished objects undergo – the photos in this post are all courtesy of her! ;)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2011 8:58 pm

    You do such beautiful work, Abi!

    • October 9, 2011 9:03 pm

      Thanks, Jen – it is easy when I have such fun patterns to work from ;)

  2. Ole permalink
    October 9, 2011 9:49 pm

    Oh Abs!! <3

    Those socks of your design! :faint: And the slippers? LOVE. Now I wish I were on your Christmas list!

  3. October 10, 2011 6:24 pm

    These socks are so pretty! I love the pattern and Abi, you are such a neat and precise knitter. I love how your projects are always so professional looking.

    • October 10, 2011 6:48 pm

      Julie – the photography totally helps with that illusion! ;)

  4. Rhonnie permalink
    October 11, 2011 9:35 am

    Love!!! Beautiful examples of beautiful patterns!!!

  5. October 12, 2011 8:32 pm

    You are a really excellent (and ridiculously) fast knitter. I am jealous!

  6. October 12, 2011 8:33 pm

    Also? Is it wrong that I’m just a little pleased to have found a new-to-you way to do something?

    • October 14, 2011 9:41 pm

      I was pleased to try something new too – although there are more new-to-me ways of doing things than you might think. I tend to find a way I like and stick with it. It’s nice to branch out sometimes!

Leave a Reply

