Skip to content

Settling In

September 26, 2011
by

I am finally starting to feel settled in the new school year.  I quizzed my students at one school on Thursday and only 16% of them scored a D or F – I am pleased with their performance! At the other school, we are doing things a little bit differently (standards-based, if that means anything to you) and of my 11 students who did not meet standard two weeks ago, six were able to study and practice and show me that they can in fact multiply fractions last week – phew! We are making progress!

I wish it were so easy to assess my knitting performance.  On the one hand, I have been swatching and sketching and even – gasp – submitting design ideas.  On the other hand, I haven’t really been knitting.  After a full day (and then some) at school/work and then coming home to chores and errands, my brain is fried. I can’t think about what’s for dinner, let alone what to knit.  I was thrilled when a friend asked me last week if I could pretty please knit a sample for her – she would choose the yarn – oh, and could she please have it by the end of the month?

Yes, yes, yes! A project that I didn’t have to pick out, yarn that I did not have to choose, a deadline I didn’t have to set – PERFECT.  I’ve been happily knitting away since last Wednesday and today put the finishing touches on the sample so I can send it to my friend.

Unfortunately, that means I will have to choose my own project now…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2011 6:42 am

    Abigail-

    this is why I started the spin the yarn, plain knit with a garter edge ruana… it will take me ages to knit and is the perfect completely mindless project for at knit night or when I am fried after working at the hospital all day…

    Amie

  2. September 27, 2011 5:10 pm

    Amie, I wish I could get into spinning! Well, I’m not actually sure I really do wish that – but it’s just not for me. I love the idea of it, but I am far too much of a perfectionist to be comfortable at my current stage of being not-very-good-at-spinning. :)

  3. September 27, 2011 9:21 pm

    I could totally just be your project picker. Save you a lot of hassle. Most things you would knit would be my size, if that makes any difference.

Leave a Reply

