Skip to content

The Office is OPEN.

September 2, 2011

Now that school has started, I get daily design time in the afternoons. I have decided to call this time Office Hours (capitalized because it seems more important that way.) and to use this time to work on current designs, research and develop future ones, and offer knitting advice. Today’s letter is from Too Many WIP’s in Detroit.

 

Dear Dr Trisha

I have too many projects

and I am not liking any of them right now

what should I do?!?!

 

Thanks, Too Many WIPs in Detroit!

 

Thanks for writing in, Too Many. Can I call you Too Many? This is  a problem that many knitters in my aquaintance have these days, including myself. I have found several ways to deal with this. First, assigning yourself some Office Hours is a big help. 2-3 hours every day after lunch to just knit will help tremendously. Second, and more seriously, take a good look at each WIP and evaluate the following things.

1) Are you enjoying knitting it?

2) Will you enjoy using it?

3) Is it more than 90% done?

4) Is this item required for a specific purpose?

If you are enjoying knitting it, finish it. If you aren’t too excited about  it, but would get a lot of use out of it, finish it. If it’s almost done, finish it. If it’s for your good friend’s birthday that is coming up in 4 days, finish it. And put it in the mail, right quick.

If the answer to either of the first 2 questions is yes, keep knitting. If you answer no to 3 or more questions, rip that baby apart.

Don’t evaluate all the WIP’s at once. Look at them one at a time over the next few days. Forget about the other projects as you evaluate each one, because you might be more excited about that gift for your friend, but actually really need the other thing that you have been working on. You don’t want to frog it because it’s less exciting, you might regret that when you want to wear that multicoloured Elvis jumpsuit to work this winter.

If you do decide to frog, go ahead and do it guilt free. You should enjoy your knitting. Even if something is for a KAL, or Camp Loopy, if you don’t need it or love it, why spend what little knitting time you have struggling through it?

Hope that helps!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy M. permalink
    September 2, 2011 7:55 pm

    Dear Dr. Trisha,

    This is excellent advice. One of my current WIPs is giving me trouble and becoming Less Fun to knit. I will frog it and focus my knitting time on my current sock projects!

    Too Many WIPs in Portland

  2. Barb B. permalink
    September 4, 2011 4:48 am

    Right on Sistah!! Couldn’t have said it better myself. The other thing I do, once I’ve weeded out the fuglies. I put them in a basket, each in an opaque bag (grocery bags work well) I stir them up, pluck one out and finish that puppy. Once a month, into the pot.
    But you are so right… there is nothing like the Freedom to Frog!

    • girlymomknits permalink*
      September 7, 2011 3:08 pm

      Oh, that’s a good plan for sure! Thanks Barb!

Leave a Reply

