Skip to content

A little tip

August 22, 2011

Abi and I are Laar-ing along together for Camp Loopy, using Mithril from Sanguine Gryphon. It’s a nice yarn, not slippery, even when knitting it at the loose gauge that we are. The colours are very pretty. In the course of our along, I have heard from Abi, and someone else, but I forget who, that she has trouble with making balanced yarn overs, as the ones on the left are always bigger. I have thought about this as I knit, and I think I have a solution.

The lace pattern that we are using has us work k2tog, yo, k1, yo, ssk. Pretty common in lace, right? Right. I suspect that the larger yo’s on the left come from the yarn being put over the needle, and then sort of left to rest while the next 2 sts are slipped individually knitwise, and then knit together through the back loops. I spelled all that out to illustrate how long it takes. Not as long as to read that, but it’s a more involved stitch, and if you aren’t paying attention to what your yarn over is doing at the time, it could stretch out, resulting in a bigger hole on that side.

I have 2 solutions. When I am working this sort of lace, I rest my right forefinger on the yo, which doesn’t allow it to relax and use up more yarn. I think I started doing this because otherwise my yo’s slip off the right needle and get into my way while I do the ssk. My other solution, which is the one I suggested to Abi, is to work the stitches like this:

k2tog, yo, k1, sl 2 sts individually knitwise, pass them back to the left needle, yo, k2togtbl.

See what we are doing there? By delaying the yo, it can’t be stretched out while we do the first half of the ssk. What do you think? Would this work for you? What tricks do you use in a situation like this?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

