Skip to content

Luckiest Girl in the World

July 19, 2011
by

Let me say a few words about why I am The Luckiest Girl in the World.

I have amazingly awesome, wonderful friends in Trisha, Abigail, and Allison. They are supportive, encouraging, and understanding. They patiently wait for the day when I am finished with school (September cannot come soon enough!) so that I can properly earn my place on this design team that I am so fortunate to be a part of. When Trisha, Abi, and Allison decided they were going to come up with a design to enter for Design For Glory, I was so excited for them and so sad that I would not have the time to contribute ideas. I stayed on the team as a cheerleader (many of you know I am good with enthusiastic statements!) and was the official photographer. Not only were they understanding of my inability to participate in the actual design process because of other commitments, but they have also decided to donate the contest winnings to a charity that is near and dear to my heart, the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of America (ccfa.org).

My husband has battled both Crohn’s and Colitis. When he was 20, he was diagnosed with ulcerative colitis. By the time he was 22, his case was so severe they had to surgically remove his colon. This surgery allows many patients to return to normal, healthy lives. My husband was better for a bit, and then had continual flares that were ultimately diagnosed (five years later) as Crohn’s disease. This diagnosis came in 2005, two months after we were married. Since then, he has been through all of the available treatments, each with varying degrees of success but ultimately not the solution for him. A few months ago, he and his doctor decided that the experimental medication that he was taking, Tysabri, wasn’t helping enough and so they stopped treatment. He is out of options, medically-speaking.

We have been long-time fundraisers for the CCFA, and we like to feel that our efforts make a difference. The CCFA is an excellent charity that dedicates over $0.80 of every dollar contributed directly to the mission: To cure Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis, and to improve the quality of life of children and adults affected by these diseases. This last Sunday, we participated in Take Steps 2011, the CCFA’s fundraising walk, and I am proud to announce that our team, The Brown Shorts was the #1 fundraising team with over $6,500! Here’s a photo of our team captain (my husband) with his certificate recognizing our achievements:


And so, I say thank you, to my friends and family for their support, to those of you who have donated, and to those of you who voted for At the Summit. Thank you for making me The Luckiest Girl in the World.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Veronica permalink
    July 19, 2011 9:26 am

    Your positive attitude is an inspiration. Your friends and husband are lucky to have you too! Way to go on the fundraising walk! I know your efforts will help get them closer to new treatments and cures.

    • girlymomknits permalink*
      July 19, 2011 1:26 pm

      I agree. Tesia is the greatest. She totally contributed more to the design than she thinks. :)

Leave a Reply

