Skip to content

My friend asked me

July 18, 2011

I went knitting with my friend tonight. She’s pretty new to knitting, and asked me what the hardest thing in knitting is. That’s a tough question. All knitting is just one stitch at a time, and when it comes down to it, it’s not hard, it just might take practice, or a tip from another knitter to really get it. I finally had to say that while knitting lace used to seem the hardest to me, before I learned to really read my knitting, that I wouldn’t avoid any knitterly activity because it seems to difficult. I should have thought of sl2tog, k1, psso. (Slip 2 stitches together, knit 1, pass the slipped stitches over.) that always seems unnecessarily hard to me. So I don’t do it. I prefer sl1, k2tog, psso. (slip 1, knit 2 together, pass the slipped stitch over.)

I keep thinking about this question though. Do you have an answer?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Barb Brown permalink
    July 19, 2011 5:38 am

    The hardest for me is deciding what to knit next, and finding time to do it. I don’t think anything is hard, just some things are more picky.

    On your decrease… the slip 2 tog, knit 1, p2SSO gives you a “centre double dec” with a nice crisp middlee st., whereas the one you are doing gives a little bar across the middle. Depending on the pattern, (and weight of yarn etc) the appearance of the whole pattern can be quite different.
    If you slip both the 2 sts. together, ie. put your needle in as if to knit and slip them over, they sit more or less together on the right needle and are fairly easy to pass over the knitted st.
    Give it a try with some fingering weight yarn and about a 3mm needle.. do it both ways, and see the difference!

    • girlymomknits permalink*
      July 19, 2011 8:45 am

      Ah, see, I use 1.5mm needles with fingering, so it’s difficult to do that stitch because the small needles just end up splitting the yarn. I will try your experiment though and see how different it looks. Thanks for the tip!

  2. July 19, 2011 10:22 am

    The hardest thing for me to learn was the difference between mistakes that had to be fixed and mistakes that could just be left. When I first started to knit, finding an extra stitch usually meant ripping everything out and starting over. Over time I’ve learned to led things slide when they don’t interfere with elements of the design; an extra stitch is easily taken care of by a simple k2tog.

    I agree with Barb about the centered double decrease. It is actually my most favourite stitch of all because of how nice and smart it looks. Check out projects for “Hey Teach” on Rav for a good illustration of the difference it makes.

    • girlymomknits permalink*
      July 19, 2011 2:07 pm

      Good to know, thanks!

Leave a Reply

