Skip to content

Blocking With/By Cats: A Tutorial

July 11, 2011

One of the most exciting parts of knitting lace is blocking…that step where your knitting goes from a crumpled mess to a beautiful finished object.

On Thursday evening (or, more accurately, the wee hours of the morning on Friday), I finished knitting my SOS Shawl:

After being gone for the weekend, I came home to block.  As usual, I had a furry friend to help me with the process: my cat Chase.  Chase is a great lover of all things wool, especially wet wool…I often find her sleeping on my handknit socks after I wash them…so, as expected, she joined me for the blocking.

Blocking sounds simple…place pins to best show off the lace. In actuality, it’s a long process:

First, lay across one edge of the shawl, preventing it from escaping during the process.

Next, check underneath the shawl, making sure nothing exciting is hiding underneath…

As a final check, walk along the edge, checking carefully that each pin is exactly where you want it…

And, when done, collapse in complete and total exhaustion:

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 20, 2011 1:29 am

    Very funny. I like your assistant.

    loraine

Leave a Reply

