Skip to content

Not a bad problem to have

July 10, 2011

I have been knitting socks lately. Secret socks. Socks I can’t show you yet. Fortunately, you saw one last night, although the one in the pictures is Abi’s. Mine is pretty much the same, but cream coloured. I just have one secret left right now, and it’s such a weight off my shoulders. I love keeping other people’s secrets, but keeping my own is much less fun.

Anyway, I currently have 3 pairs of socks on the go. I have finished one sock from each pair. I don’t like being a project polygamist, so I am looking forward to finishing up a pair every few days over the next 12 days. On the 13th day, we leave for our annual trip home to see family, and a side trip for me to SOCK SUMMIT! I am that excited. Anyway, 2 of the 3 pairs have to be finished before I go. Would you like to see the finished socks from each of those pairs? You would? Ok. Don’t tell my sister, one of them will be her birthday gift, assuming that I can get the second one done on time.

On the left is Bonnie Birds sock #1, from Barb Brown’s Knitting Knee-Highs. I love this design, it’s such a beautiful and fun knit. It’s not often that I knit a pattern in the suggested colours, but I loved the Blue Willow china look of these and had to replicate it. I got the yarn (Handwerks Necessary Sock)  from Barb at SS09, so it seemed meant to be. I am seriously thinking of getting a second copy of this book, a digital copy this time, so that I can take it with me everywhere. It’s my favorite pattern book of all time.

On the right is my own design, Strong Roots, with Mojito leaves and a Winter Birch trunk, both in Kells sport. I love how natural the birch colours look here. I am reknitting this pattern to display at SS at the Three Irish Girls booth. Stop by to have a look at this colourway in person, you will be glad that you did.

So now to decide which second sock to cast one next. Hmmm.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

