Skip to content

New stirrings

May 27, 2011

I have always loved knitting with wool. I don’t have very much experience at all working with plant fibres, but lately I have been thinking of hot summer days and cute sundresses, tanks and tees, knit by me and wearable during the summer months. I know that there is a new line of plant fibre yarns coming out from Three Irish Girls, which is very exciting, but in the meantime, what do you recommend? I would rather pay more to use yarn that I can love, with colours that make themselves known. No washed out pastels for me. Ok, go. What do you love to knit with for summer wear?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2011 11:05 am

    I really like Americo Original’s Pima Cotton Flame (which is like a thick and thin cotton that’s so soft and has lots of very vivid colours). It’s also a Canadian company, which is cool.

    A few people at my guild have used both the Shine (cotton and modal) and Comfy (cotton and acrylic) from Knit Picks, and they seem to hold up quite well in the finished products.

    • girlymomknits permalink*
      May 27, 2011 4:25 pm

      Good to know! Thanks!

  2. May 10, 2017 6:37 pm

    Well maadcamia nuts, how about that.

  3. August 29, 2017 11:28 pm

    i just downloaded the image and ate it!yes, Americans do eat a lot of this, but i think it is rarely this good or refined outside of places like NYC, LA, SF or Seattle.you mention black bean sauce, do you have a recipe for that too? i have searched our blog and not found one.

Leave a Reply

