Skip to content

New stirrings

May 27, 2011

I have always loved knitting with wool. I don’t have very much experience at all working with plant fibres, but lately I have been thinking of hot summer days and cute sundresses, tanks and tees, knit by me and wearable during the summer months. I know that there is a new line of plant fibre yarns coming out from Three Irish Girls, which is very exciting, but in the meantime, what do you recommend? I would rather pay more to use yarn that I can love, with colours that make themselves known. No washed out pastels for me. Ok, go. What do you love to knit with for summer wear?

Sorry for the double post, I got the WordPress app for my phone, and it said it had crashed, so I didn’t think the post had worked. And now I can’t get rid of it!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Barb Brown permalink
    May 28, 2011 3:11 am

    I hate to say it, but wool mostly. Just lighter wool. I do, however like linen and hemp. The more you wear it, the comfier it gets. I am not a huge fan of the new “plant” fibres… they are basically viscose which makes my teeth ache when it squeeks between my fingers. It is lovely looking though, and the colours can be very rich.

    • girlymomknits permalink*
      May 29, 2011 3:52 pm

      Oh I hate that squeek! Those horrible grey needles make that noise, it just makes me twitchy. Blech.

Leave a Reply

