Skip to content

Phew!

May 21, 2011
by

You may remember that I recently posted about finishing grad school.  After completing the final requirement of my program, I received my teaching permit on April 26th – this is a little slip of paper that is terribly unofficial-looking and yet somehow it gives me permission to be in charge of imparting information to children in grades kindergarten through eighth grade (and being a substitute-imparter-of-information-er for high schoolers, too!).  On May 5th I had my first job as a substitute teacher, and on May 9th I started a long-term sub position (middle school math) that will last through the end of the school year.

Yeah, it seems a little crazy to me, too!

The first two weeks have gone well although we’ve had a few bumps along the way as the students and I get to know each other.  We’ve had some chaos due to the bizarre block schedule my school is following to accommodate state testing, but all-in-all, it’s been fun, and (shh, don’t tell anyone…) I think the kids are learning things.

What does this have to do with knitting, you may be wondering?  Well, it’s simple – during my student teaching, the art teacher hosted the school’s first knitting club, and I served as her assistant.  Now that I am back at the school, knitting club is continuing!  It’s been fun working with these kids and seeing the projects that they make.  They enjoy trying to stump me with their questions and checking out my latest project.  We have the opportunity to talk about whatever is on their minds, to laugh and smile and get to know each other while knitting. Developing this connection with some of my students outside of the academic classroom has been invaluable, and so I am so grateful for knitting!

Has your knitting ever helped you in unexpected ways?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Patty permalink
    May 22, 2011 6:46 am

    Knitting brought me new and unexpected friendships; yours among them. So glad that your teaching career is bringing you such satisfaction!

  2. May 22, 2011 11:12 am

    My knitting helped me to connect to my husband’s best friend’s wife. She and I didn’t have much in common so it was hard to hang out together when our husbands wanted to. Lucky for me, her daughter wanted to learn to knit and so I taught her. Well, then the daughter showed Mom how to knit (she hadn’t picked up the needles since she was in grade school) and the three of us now chat about knitting and knitting patterns when we get together. They even want to take their first trip to a LYS and want me to take them. I’m really excited to show them the wonderful world of stash enhancement. It’s been great and I think that Mom will keep up with it. Woohoo!

  3. marie permalink
    May 24, 2011 3:14 pm

    Knitting and spinning by extention, just reconnected me to a girl I played soccer with in grade school, granted I’ve known her for a while now because of knitting/spinning, but we just figured out the connection over the weekend.

Leave a Reply

