Skip to content

Where HAVE you BEEN?

April 28, 2011
by

That’s what I hear in my head, a la Molly Weasley in the film version of Chamber of Secrets, when I think about posting here. Some of you may be wondering just that – why you haven’t heard from me in MONTHS – so here I am to fill you in!

One year ago, I started a one-year Master’s program. Two days ago, I received my teaching permit. and notification that I have completed all of the requirements for both the Elementary (K-8) teaching certificate and the Master in Teaching degree. It’s been a crazy year, but now it’s over!

You might think that means things are more relaxed around here, but that’s not strictly true – now the job search starts in earnest.  I’ve had several offers from faraway places, but local districts won’t be hiring until August/September, so in the meantime I’ll be subbing in the local schools.

And knitting. I have been working on a few designs here and there, and a few things for myself as well.  I’ve got two sweaters in progress – a Rogue that just needs sleeves, and a Tributary Pullover that is only just begun.  I’m knitting the Rogue with Cascade Eco, which I *love*. It’s got excellent stitch definition and washes up beautifully for this pattern.

My Tributary is in Three Irish Girls’ Carys BFL, also beautiful and soft and lovely. I don’t have photos yet due to the terribly wet and gloomy “spring” we have been having up here, but believe me when I say it is gorgeous :)

Now that I am finished with school, I’ll still be busy subbing and applying for jobs, but I should have MUCH more time to work on various projects and I am very excited about that!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Veronica permalink
    April 28, 2011 5:42 pm

    I have been wondering where you were! Congrats on finishing school!

  2. April 28, 2011 8:05 pm

    Yay, and congratulations! Your Rogue is beautiful–care to knit one for me? I’ve been totally slacking on knitting lately, and I don’t even have a good excuse like school!

  3. April 28, 2011 10:20 pm

    You did it! Now you can look back and say, “When I was in grad school…” Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

