Skip to content

What Do I Want To Be? Round 1

March 7, 2011
by

So, in addition to crazy amounts of studying, I’ve also been spinning.  It’s nice and relaxing, a good way for my brain to rest.  Of course, that also means I have a lot of yarns.  Usually, I consider a handspun yarn to be a finished object, but lately, my yarns have been staring at me, saying “knit me. knit me now.” The problem is…they don’t tell me what they want to be.  And that’s where you come in.  Every so often (I have no idea how often “so often” will be…depends on how busy school/work are), I will post a pic of one of my skeins of handspun, along with some general info…yardage, approximate weight, fibers, etc.  Based on that, I’d love ideas of what you think this yarn wants to be.  A hat?  A scarf?  A bowl?  Gloves?  Doll clothes?  Who knows…I’m hoping these yarns will tell you, because so far, they aren’t telling me.  Based on your suggestions, I’ll hopefully be able to figure it out…and then work on a design for that yarn.

So…let us begin…

This yarn:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

is two-ply, approximate 75 yds, of aran-to-bulky (~8 wraps per inch).  It’s a mix of different fibers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Is it saying anything to you?  Do you know what it would like to be?  Let me know!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. girlymomknits permalink*
    March 7, 2011 5:20 pm

    It wants to be a loose scarfy cowl.

  2. March 10, 2011 8:49 pm

    It wants to live with me. I will love her and pet her and call her Georgina.

    • Allison permalink*
      March 10, 2011 8:53 pm

      Really, is that what she wants? Because that could happen…

Leave a Reply

