Skip to content

Apres Madrona

February 24, 2011

This past week has been a whirlwind of noise, laughter, coffee and yarn. Lots and lots of yarn, and fibre that will become yarn. Or not. On Thursday, I boarded a plane, another plane, and a third plane, to get to SeaTac airport where I was greeted by some of the best friends in the world. The next morning, we went back to the airport to get Allison, and headed straight to Madrona. If you have never been, you should go. It was a lot of fun. We saw famous knitters, met Ravelry friends in real life, and bought some amazing stuff. Audrey JefwithoneF finished her amazing pants, and let me tell you, walking through the market place watching people react to them was some of the most fun I have ever had. I wore my Emily Prefers to Flounce skirt, while hanging out with Stephannie Tallent who is as sweet as she is talented. It was a lot of fun having people gush over my skirt because I could casually say things like, Oh yes, it was designed by Stephannie Tallent. There she is right there.

We met new friends, like Maxine from Lopez Island, who sold me these two bags of fibre.

   

Left: some sort of unprocessed, unwashed sheep’s wool. Right: some wild and crazy dyed mohair locks.

The plan for the unwashed is to see if I can knit mittens with it without spinning or washing it. I made an attempt earlier today, and while casting on was tricky, knitting it isn’t hard at all. Seeing the stitches is another thing. I have done about 5 rounds over 24 sts, and will post pictures when more can be seen. So far, it seems to be possible, but whether it is desirable to knit mittens from what is becoming thick and thin untwisted yarn as I knit is yet to be seen.

The mohair was for my boys. They love to do crafts, so I thought that it would be a bag of inspiration to them, and I was right. I will post pictures of what we made in a separate thread later.

In other news, my sample and pattern are done and sent in. I am quite happy with how they turned out, I hope the powers that be over at Sanguine Gryphon agree.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

