Skip to content

It’s been a while…

January 15, 2011

How have you been? I have been busy busy busy. And not in a particularly busy way. Just that there is always something hanging over my head, making me feel like I have to be doing stuff constantly. Lately, I have been working on a sample for the upcoming Art Nouveau collection from Sanguine Gryphon. I am very excited about this design, it is really coming together nicely. I can’t wait to show you.

I have also been revisiting Laughing Miss Dashwood. If you have already bought the pattern, thank you, and I am very sorry that my math skills weren’t better. I am also sorry that through all the back and forth and give and take that went on in the first round of tech editing, some of the instructions became less clear, rather than more clear. I know that errata is to be expected in knitting patterns, but I am so ashamed that mine is so filled with problems. I promise you that when this second, and hopefully more effective, round of tech editing is done, Laughing Miss Dashwood will be a sweater that you can knit with confidence and wear with pride. I will post again to let you know when the updated version is ready for purchase.

TAA and I have been working on a project in which we will collaborate. At this point, some things  are being tested, some things have been tested and need to be photographed, and somethings are still in the “Didn’t I say I would design something else as well” stage. The best part about this project, other than the fabulous designs and yarn, of course, is the very fluid deadline. :) One day, when you least expect it, we will surprise you with something great. And you will love it. And so will we.

Yesterday, I was looking through my stash for something, and I realized that almost everything I have knit since this time last year was a sample, either of my own, or for my friend Barb Brown’s upcoming book, Knitting Knee-Highs (Amazon.ca link, but it is also available for pre-order on Amazon.com). It has been great, and I wouldn’t want to change it at all, but I really want to knit from my stash. I plan to take a break for a while, and knit other people’s patterns for a while, (I am looking at you guys, TAA) and let my brain and internal countdown clock have a break. It will be nice not to feel a deadline ticking closer, for a short while anyway, I think.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 8:17 pm

    Trisha, I’m 100% confident Laughing Miss Dashwood will be worth the wait!

    I know what you mean about not having time to knit something that’s *yours*. It helps that my last designs and the current one are all ones that my family can wear, so the samples I’ve knit are all for them…but it *would* be nice to pick up someone else’s pattern for a bit, rather than doing more math for mine! I guess I should have seen this trade off coming, but somehow, I didn’t. It’s a worthwhile trade off…but like you, I’m looking forward to taking a break. I just can’t yet, not after this pattern–I have to get at least one more done first!

Leave a Reply

