Skip to content

Wait, where did the time go?

December 22, 2010
by

Somehow, it’s ended up that Christmas is just three days away. That shouldn’t really come as a surprise, since it is on the same day every year, but that doesn’t seem to make much difference…

At any rate, I don’t typically do a lot of holiday knitting. I am generally fairly selfish with my knitting and if I am going to knit for someone I’d rather it be because I think they would like something, and not for a specific holiday.  This year, however, my mother did request a few things a couple of months ago and I was happy to oblige – hooray for low stress and stash-busting gifts!

First up, a pair of Fuzzy Feet slippers (pre-felting – I’ve sent them to Mom this way and she’ll take care of felting them so they’ll fit her perfectly). I’ve made this pattern a couple of times and it’s quick and easy. I love it!  I used stash yarn, Three Irish Girls Lindon Merino in a no-longer-available colorway, Carys.

008

Second, and not pictured, I made a pair of mittens with the same yarn.  I used up about 1.75 skeins of the yarn for both and finished both projects in just a few days.  Now that’s what I call gift knitting!

Unfortunately, that was back in October.  Since then, Christmas has kind of slipped my mind. With school and internship and household stuff and travel and friends and general life insanity, I just kept figuring there’d be time later.  Of course, this meant that I spent most of the last two days thinking about and ordering Christmas gifts.  Thank goodness for Amazon Prime and Amazon Fresh, is all I have to say!  (PS. Did you know that if you are a student you can get Amazon Prime for one year for free? Also if you care for a young child, there’s a 3-month free trial option that is extended up to a year for each month you make a $30 purchase. I can’t link to these offers since I am a member, but they should be pretty easy to find on the Amazon website.)  I will be spending a good portion of today baking and mixing and cooking, and then most of Friday wrapping the things that will be arriving tomorrow and Friday.

I am sad to report that all of that means that there is not much time for knitting this week, which is sad because I made great progress at my knitting group last night – I seamed my February Fitted Pullover, so all I have to do now is weave in the ends and I will have a new sweater!  Then I seamed the shoulders of my Rogue Pullover, so it’s ready for the hood and sleeves.  I can’t wait until I have more time to knit – hopefully I’ll finish it before winter’s totally over.

How is your Holiday knitting going?

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 27, 2010 2:23 pm

    I knew my limitations, so I didn’t plan any Christmas knitting…until the Saturday before. :-) And I had to have it done before Wednesday because that’s when we were going to be seeing my sister-in-law (the recipient) that day and I didn’t want to be knitting her Christmas gift in front of her! Fortunately, after Saturday’s false start and I Sunday morning yarn purchase, I was able to do some marathon knitting Sunday and Monday and finish the hat. And my sis-in-law loved it! So did my mom, who requested one in red. Guess I know what Mom’s getting for her birthday…

Leave a Reply

