Skip to content

It’s time for more tips and tricks

December 1, 2010

I am feeling very satisfied, because I just finished knitting something that I have been working hard at. No, I can’t tell you what it is, but I  can say that it is part of something very exciting. As I was binding off, I said to myself, hey! I should blog about this. I don’t like how a bind off rolls to the front, when you do the good old k2, pass the first stitch over the second, k1, pass the first stitch over the second…. So what I do is bind off in k1p1 ribbing, no matter what the stitch pattern was before. It helps the edge to lay flat.

So, what tips would you like to share?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Allison permalink*
    December 2, 2010 9:05 am

    Instead of transferring my stitches to waste yarn when I need to try a sweater on or try to figure out how large my shawl is, I put it on 2 or more really long sock-sized circular needles. It’s much easier to transfer stitches back to my main needle from a needle than a piece of scrap yarn.

  2. Rhonnie permalink
    December 2, 2010 5:05 pm

    Ohhh that’s a neat idea Trisha!! I really do like the roll up edge but it just isn’t always “right” for a project. I’ll have to remember that.

    I do like Allison – I can NOT pick up needles from a piece of scrap yarn. Tried it once and nearly did myself in, lol.
    So I always hold them on one of the cables from my knitpicks set and then I can just screw the proper tips on and go when it’s time to deal with those stitches. LOVE it :)

    Don’t know that I have any great tips of my own though – I’m still to green ;)

  3. December 2, 2010 6:04 pm

    And Knitpicks sells extenders now for their interchangeable cords, so if you don’t have a cord long enough, the extender will help!

    I am a huge (huge!) fan of EZ’s sewn bind off. I think it looks so much neater than a knitted bind off, and it doesn’t have the roll either. Once I got a little practice with it, it goes even quicker than the knitted bind off does.

    And this is a tip I learned somewhere on Ravelry, but my favorite way to start a new ball of yarn (if it’s the same color) is to knit 3-5 stitches with the end of the first ball and the beginning of the second. I just don’t trust simply weaving in the ends to hold, and with the yarns stitches together it’s very sturdy. When done, I give a slight tug on the two ends, and that helps the extra yarn to pop behind the other so you don’t see extra thick stitches, and then weave in as usual.

  4. autumnbriars permalink
    December 5, 2010 7:11 am

    Trisha, you are a genius! (And it probably says something about my own intelligence that it took three tried to spell genius properly….) It drives me batty when my bound off edges roll that way! I can’t believe the solution is so simple. Thank you!

    • girlymomknits permalink*
      December 15, 2010 7:20 pm

      You are so welcome. :)

Leave a Reply

