Skip to content

Design Modifications; Book Signing Update!

November 14, 2010
by

After a stressful and busy few weeks, things are finally starting to calm down!  Since my last post, I’ve written 2 legal briefs and given 3 presentations on court cases, prepared lesson plans for social studies, reading and math, started my third internship (6th/7th grade math again, hooray!), written a grant proposal for the math department at my internship school and spent 5 days in Minnesota visiting a variety of friends and family.  I’ve also knit a sweater, some mittens, a couple of sleeves and part of another sweater, and started who-knows-how-many socks.

I’m back to work on the Rainbow project and really enjoying it. Before I even began knitting, I sketched out the pattern and how I wanted it to work. I had a gauge swatch but that was it. After I started knitting, however, I decided I did not love one aspect of it.  So, I ripped out the 3 inches I had finished and started again.  Another 4 inches later, I changed my mind about where I wanted to change the color.  Rrrriiiiippppp went 2 inches.  Now I’m back to where I was and much happier with it, overall, although one part is still questionable in my mind. I may end up adjusting that eventually but for now I’m going with it. All in all, I’m loving this project and can’t wait to finish it.  The yarn is super cheerful, which is perfect this time of year, and the pattern is just enough of a challenge without being complicated.

And lest you think I have forgotten, the Vampire Knits signing went well!  I started by signing a few books that had been pre-ordered, which I found highly entertaining. After that, I had the chance to talk to other knitters about projects in the book. Since I had finished my Lore Hoodie in under a week, there was plenty of time to wash and block it before October 30th. It seems that knitters really like seeing actual samples of patterns :)

DSC01870

I really loved this pattern and am now convinced that everyone needs one. I used Berroco Peruvia Quick, a bulky weight Peruvian wool that is light and lofty, in a heathered rich red wine color.  It does shed a bit while knitting but less so after washing, and it is fairly soft too.  The pattern is well written and easy to follow and the finished object is cozy and very flattering.  Knitting at 3 sts/inch means it knits up incredibly quickly! I really needed some instant gratification knitting in October, and this was the perfect project for that.

DSC01868

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2010 3:53 pm

    Holy crap, you knit that sweater in less than a week? I’m impressed.

    • November 14, 2010 4:01 pm

      Thanks! It is 3 sts/inch so it goes super fast. And I had a lot of class that week with presentations that did not require note-taking :)

  2. Yarnista permalink
    November 16, 2010 5:17 pm

    I love that hoodie! Good work!

Leave a Reply

