Skip to content

Ideas! Deadlines! Life!

October 17, 2010
by

My head is swirling with design obligations, school assignments, things I need to take care of at home, a possibly sick cat and upcoming travel plans. There is too much to do, and not enough hours in the day!

I’ve finished writing up two patterns, which were due on Friday, and am now just waiting to hear back from the tech editor.

For school, I’ve submitted a few lesson plans, worked out the structure for a unit plan and activity centers assignment, worked on two group presentations (one for Monday, one for Tuesday) and gotten a head start on some other assignments, too.

I’ve done the usual laundry, dishes and cooking, as well as filing away papers from last quarter at school and trying to tame the mountain of “knitting stuff” that somehow finds its way out of storage and into my living room.

The cat seems to be on the mend (finally!), so I’ve got fingers crossed that I don’t have to wrangle him back into his carrier and traumatize him further with yet another trip to the vet, and our upcoming travel seems to be working itself out.

At the same time, I’ve knit a sample for my fabulous new local yarn shop to help advertise Vampire Knits, several swatches for the Lore Hoodie from the same book, a Bar Harbor Hoodie from Creative Knitting and some mittens (hooray for getting a head start on Christmas!).

And yet – with all of that going on – the designs keep coming.  I was lying in bed last night, working out the details of a new design idea, when suddenly a different idea pushed its way in.  Instead of eyelets and swirls and dramatic colors, there were clean lines and bright color play. This idea just would not let go, as I contemplated different options for shape, size and color.  I kept trying to return to the original design, but my mind was having none of it.  I drifted off to sleep, puzzling out a particular aspect of this new design.

This morning, all was forgotten – I was working on some schoolwork and eating breakfast while talking to Trisha, when she asked a question about how much ease to use for a hat.  Just like that, I remembered that late-night design. Sketching it out was a simple process, but now comes the hard part: finding time to flesh it out.  I’ve got too many ideas, too many deadlines, and not enough time to fit it all in.

Isn’t that just the way life goes…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rhonnie permalink
    October 17, 2010 5:52 pm

    Wow! Amazing! :) Glad the other stuff is falling into place for you :) Can’t wait to see all these fabulous ideas in your head come to fruition!

  2. October 19, 2010 6:45 am

    Oh, good, I’m not the only one with pushy design ideas! I keep notebooks with me wherever I am–there’s one for my purse, one for my knitting bag, one next to my chair in the living room, and one on my nightstand!–for those times that the design ideas hit and I’m either busy with something else or trying to get to sleep. Then I can just jot down enough that I’ll be able to remember it later, and it lets me move on to what i was trying to do first. Usually. :-)

Leave a Reply

