Skip to content

An Interview with Patty!

October 14, 2010
by

A long, long time ago,

I can still remember….

Oh, wait. Sorry – got a little sidetracked there!  Anyway, way back in August, the four of us had the chance to spend a long weekend together with a few other friends.  One of these friends is Patty, aka Rugersmom on Ravelry.  Patty lives in New York with her family and we were very happy she was able to join us!  While she was here, we conducted a little mini-interview with her to find out a bit about her.  We hope you enjoy this interview!

TAAT: Do you prefer DPNs or circular needles?

Patty: DPNs for socks, knitted top-down

TAAT: What is the most exciting place that knitting has brought you?

Patty: Ravelry – where, no matter who you are, no matter what your personal story, your love of fibre overrides everything else.

TAAT: What is your favorite knitted object? Why is it your favorite?

Patty: The socks I have on my feet! They are the first pair I finished and they fit! (Editor’s Note: The pattern is Uptown Boot Socks) I made them and they fit, and they match!

TAAT: Why do you buy yarn?

Patty: I buy Three Irish Girls yarn because it is pretty.  Tactile. Sometimes because of an emotional reaction to the yarn. I have a whole bin of pretty yarn with no plans!

TAAT: What is your most favoritest yarn ever (brand, base and colorway)? And Trisha had a great follow up question: What’s the one that got away, the yarn you thought about buying and have always regretted not purchasing?

Patty: My favorite yarn is Maura on Three Irish Girls Springvale. It was the photo of this yarn on the 3IG site that pulled me into the club and ultimately connected me with all of you. I have would a big void in my life with out all of you; your energy, enthusiasm and creative welcoming spirits are a great gift to me.  As far as the yarn that got away; I have no great regrets. I have found that if I am meant to have something it works out that I will and if not then I am meant to have something different at another time. And that’s just fine with me.

Thanks so much, Patty, for letting us share your thoughts!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy permalink
    October 15, 2010 7:04 am

    Great interview! We loves ya, Patty!

    BTW Abi, I noticed that you spelled “fibre” in the Canadian fashion. Does that mean you’re contemplating coming north?

    • October 16, 2010 10:57 am

      Sandy – we actually took turns asking Patty questions, and writing down her answers, and that was Trisha’s question so she wrote down the answer :) When I typed it up I figured I had better keep it her way!

  2. Patty permalink
    October 17, 2010 6:51 pm

    Just a note, the socks I referred to were the first socks that I had made for myself that fit etc; I have made a few other pair, but always for some one else. I loved being with all of you…and hope to see you all again in Portland!!!

  3. October 19, 2010 6:49 am

    I was wondering about the “fibre” too–I actually looked back up to see who’d written this one ’cause I was sure it was Trisha. :-) Thanks for the interview; it was fun to read! And good to see Patty’s a kindred spirit who believes in yarn shopping with no regrets! ;-)

Leave a Reply

