Skip to content

No Longer on a Roll

October 5, 2010
by

Last week, I was on a roll with my knitting! I made good progress on a number of projects, and was having a blast.  This week? Not so much.  Since my last post, I’ve decided to frog my Betony socks, to be reknit some day (perhaps only using the center lace pattern).  They are just too big, and I do not have the patience to figure out how to fix that.  I added a mitten-top to one of my fingerless mitts, but can’t decide if I want to do the same to the other one, so that project has halted, too.  I am still making slow progress on my Rainbow design, but that’s not very good mindless knitting just yet.

I did finish my Miss Margaret socks, and am pretty happy with the outcome.  I made some modifications because my gauge is different, but aside from that I am pleased with the pattern and the finished socks.  It’s a bit funny to wear sparkly yarn on my feet but I’m sure I’ll get used to it :)

001

After finishing those socks last night, I decided to cast on for a pair of Pinata socks (Ravelry link only, I’m afraid) using my gorgeous skein of Three Irish Girls “Starry Starry Night”, a limited-edition colorway created for the Sock Summit 2009 Dye for Glory competition. I love how this yarn knits up, but I am not loving the pattern. I am quite picky about my socks and it’s not quite working out for me.

009

Isn’t the yarn just lovely in garter stitch?  Unfortunately, the cuff is too big for me and as I prefer my socks to be snug fitting I need to drop down a size (or two). I haven’t got the patience for this just now so I’m going to set these socks aside to think about another day.

Tonight, I think I’m going to cast on for a pair of Fuzzy Feet slippers for my mom. I need something easy and foolproof – wish me luck!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 19, 2010 6:51 am

    I love seeing how Starry, Starry Night is knitting up–it IS gorgeous in garter stitch!

Leave a Reply

