Skip to content

Baby, It’s cold outside; A Tea cozy

September 16, 2010

A while ago, I was given some handspun by a friend of mine. It was so perfect, even my husband agreed that it was art and that it should be displayed in the living room. From the moment I saw the lively greens, I knew it wanted to be a tea cozy. But I have an insulated teapot. And it was summer. So I put it off. And then without warning, at the same time of year as usual, the weather turned cold, and I knew it was time. A search on ravelry showed me countless tea cozies. Fun ones, pretty ones, but none meant for handspun. And I really wanted the yarn to be the focus. So I made up my own pattern. It was a really quick knit, it only took a few hours, and it makes me happy every morning (and afternoon and evening) to go make a delicious cup of tea in a pot that I bought from a friend, who was starting a business, which wears a cozy of yarn spun by another friend. The warm fuzzies from thinking of them are almost as comfortable as the tea.

If you would like to make one too, here is what you need.

Bulky weight handspun (87g) (If you don’t have any, and don’t know how to make your own, I know where you can buy some. Scroll down to see the handspun.)
Needles to get  gauge, circulars or straights
Darning needle 
Crochet hook

Gauge: 4spi

Here’s the pattern: Make 2

Cast on 34 sts.

Work 4 rows of k2 p2 rib.
Eyelet row: (RS) K2, (yo, k2tog) to last 2 sts, yo, k2.
Repeat the following 2 rows until your fabric is as tall as your teapot:

1) k2, p2, knit to last 6 sts, p2, k2, p2 
2)k2, p2, k2, purl to last 4 sts, k2, p2

Repeat the Eyelet row once more, followed by 3 rows of k2,p2 ribbing. Bind off.

After you have made another piece following the same directions, and using your teapot as a guide, sew the edges of the two pieces together above and below the handle, and above and below the spout.

Using your crochet hook, make 2 long chains to feed through the eyelets and use as draw strings. The cozy will be easy to remove, because of the ribbing at the handle and spout, or you can simply loosen the drawstring at the top, take the lid off the pot, and make your tea without removing the cozy at all.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy permalink
    September 16, 2010 8:38 am

    So simple, even I could make it! ;-)

  2. May 3, 2011 10:06 pm

    Hi. I love the simplicity of this pattern and wondered if you would give me permission to include the pattern free in a kit of yarn and needles with your name and blog details included on the front of the kit and inside on the pattern. We never EVER use patterns without permission and always give credit to the creator. We are a small boutique yarn and fabric store in Christchurch, New Zealand. my website is attached I think so you can see I am above board. We are putting together a series of kits using patterns from Ravelry (all with written consent of course!) for our newer knitters.
    Thanks and kind regards
    Fenella

    • girlymomknits permalink*
      May 27, 2011 10:45 am

      I am so sorry that I didn’t see this before now. I don’t get comment notifications for some reason. Are you still interested? I will email you via your shop if you are. Thanks for thinking of me.

      Trisha

Leave a Reply

