Skip to content

CONTEST! Vampire Knits book

September 9, 2010
by

Several people I know have expressed interest in picking up a copy of the book that my Werewolf Hat pattern will be in, Vampire Knits, and it just so happens that I had pre-ordered a copy way back when (because how could I not? It has my name in it, after all!).  So I’ve decided to do a little giveaway of my pre-ordered copy here on the blog!

In order to enter, comment to this post, sharing your favorite vampire book or movie (or share if you don’t have one, you can still win.. ;) ). I will choose a winner randomly at 9pm Pacific Time on Monday, September 13th, one day before the book comes out and contact the winner straight away, so please, fill in your email address when you comment! It won’t be displayed to anyone else but will allow me to contact you. My pre-ordered copy is scheduled to arrive on Tuesday, and I will sign it (if you’d like) and put it in the mail to the winner as soon as I get your address back. I will also include one of these adorable promotional buttons that says “knitting is dead sexy” in the same killer font that is used in the book!

(Yes, the contest is open to non-US residents!)

002

Plenty of people have also asked to see pictures of the hat. I got permission to share photos as long as I obscured the actual pattern, so here are the first two pages of my pattern in the book. Isn’t the design/layout/photography beautiful? A bunch of the photos were taken on location in Forks, Washington, and they really show off the beauty of this part of the country.

004b

Good luck!

35 Comments leave one →
  1. Rhonnie permalink
    September 9, 2010 6:05 pm

    How cool!!! I’m so excited for you! :)
    Okay, let’s see – my fave vamp movie or book….I think recently it is the Carpathian novels by Christine Feehan :) They are YUMMY :D

  2. Steph permalink
    September 9, 2010 6:24 pm

    Can I cheat and say Buffy the Vampire Slayer? :P The TV series, of course.

  3. September 9, 2010 6:25 pm

    Hands down, my favorite vampire movie is “Dracula” with Boris Karloff. Way scary, esp. for it’s time. My favorite vampire book is Bram Stoker’s “Dracula.” Still scary to this day. Your hat looks great. Here’s to wonderful success of your book and esp. your pattern. Looking very good. Congratulations, Abigail!

  4. September 9, 2010 6:27 pm

    I still think the original bram stokers dracula.. though I love all kinds of others, INCLUDING twilight..

  5. September 9, 2010 6:34 pm

    I have a real soft spot for the old 80s vampire movies–Lost Boys and Near Dark in particular.

  6. Stephanie permalink
    September 9, 2010 6:47 pm

    I am very excited about this book!

    I love the Twilight series, but the German nerd in me likes the original, black and white, first ever, silent vampire movie, Nosferatu.

  7. Mona permalink
    September 9, 2010 6:50 pm

    I’m gonna say my favorite vampire books currently are the Sookie Stackhouse series along with True Blood. Good, fun stuff.

  8. angela permalink
    September 9, 2010 7:34 pm

    Hmmm. . . I think my favorite vampire movie is The Lost Boys, just because it was my first vampire movie. . . and I had a crush on one of the actors (heh!) I recently read Dracula the Un-Dead, by Dacre Stoker and enjoyed that. . .

  9. Erica permalink
    September 9, 2010 7:35 pm

    Wow I’m surprised you haven’t been inundated by a slew of “My favorite vampire book is TWILIGHT!!” comments. But maybe I’m speaking too soon…

    (Eclipse is my fav). :)

  10. September 9, 2010 7:39 pm

    It’s not cheating to say Buffy (the TV show, DEFINITELY not the movie!) ’cause that’s what I’m going to say! ;-) I also really liked Angel; Joss Whedon is a genius.

  11. Patty permalink
    September 9, 2010 7:43 pm

    I have never seen vampire movie, but I totally love you and your pattern and I would really love to have the pin!!! Where can I get the pin??

    • September 9, 2010 7:47 pm

      Patty, unfortunately the pin was just a promo thing that was used at Comic Con and maybe a few other book fairs or something. I received two with my copy of the book and I’m giving one away ;) I’ll ask my contact if there are more that can be acquired through other means and let you know.

      • Deb (ALoopyString) permalink
        September 14, 2010 11:00 pm

        Figures I’d be a day late and a dolla short, sigh! Would have LOVED to have had a chance to win this book. But I too would be very interested if you were able to come up with more of those buttons! Congrats on your published pattern, it is truly an exciting thing! And the book looks awesome!

  12. September 9, 2010 7:45 pm

    Can’t wait to get my copy! I remember some of the patterns when they were on Ravelry! My favorite vampire movie is Eclipse. Too Cool!

  13. Stacy and the rugrats permalink
    September 9, 2010 7:54 pm

    Woo hoo!! So awesome Abi! And who doesn’t love Vampires nowadays? My eldest even traded for a vampire silly band. Oh dear!

    As for favorite vampire book(s), I have to say Laurel K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake series (preferably the earlier books). Mmm….

  14. Mal permalink
    September 9, 2010 8:01 pm

    growing up I adored the Hammer films and swore my undying love for Christopher Lee… campy yes… but dead sexy and scary the way a vampire should be… to pick a single movie or vampire would be impossible… but it would be a toss up of the Mexican *Dracula* that was filmed on the same sets as Bela Lugosi’s *Dracula* but at night with Carlos Villarias (~1931) and the campy but beautiful *Bram Stoker’s Dracula* with Gary Oldman who gave me chills as the young er Dracula walking about London stalking Mina… then of course there was Frank Langella’s Dracula (1979)… oh and Thomas Ian Griffith in Vampires (1998)… and Gerard Butler in Dracula 2000… and Jackson Rathbone in the Twilight series… um… never mind… I admit it… I have a vamp fetish…

  15. September 9, 2010 8:29 pm

    I really like the Vampire Hunter D movie.

  16. September 9, 2010 8:59 pm

    Another Buffy fan here, but I’d have to say my favorite vampire thing would be the anime series _Vampire Princess Miyu_.

  17. Matchstick permalink
    September 9, 2010 9:08 pm

    Buffy is a great answer, but I have to go with The Hunger with David Bowie and Catherine Deneuve. Great intro with Bauhaus’ “Bela Lugosi is Dead” as the soundtrack.

  18. Lindsey permalink
    September 9, 2010 11:47 pm

    Color me geeky, but I loves me some Twilight!!! SUCH delightful guilty pleasure reads! Ahhh, I spent many an hour in our super deep bath tub in England, filled with LUSH bubble bath and bath bombs, reading those books.

  19. September 10, 2010 1:59 am

    Buffy Buffy Buffy. All the way!

  20. September 10, 2010 4:14 am

    As you know, I don’t know much about vampire movies, shows, or books. I do love you, though, and I love knitting and knitting pattern books. This book looks particularly unusual, and I would love to get a chance to get my hands on it. Congratulations on the publishing, Abigail!

  21. Ellen (lnand) permalink
    September 10, 2010 5:12 am

    Your hat looks fun! And my favourite vampire “movie” will be the first season of True Blood, as it’s the closest to the books….

  22. Julie permalink
    September 10, 2010 12:01 pm

    This looks like a fabulous book and I can’t wait to get it! I have two favourite sets of Vampire books: The Sookie Stackhouse / True Blood series and the House of Night series.

  23. KatherineR permalink
    September 10, 2010 7:10 pm

    George Hamilton’s Love at First Bite, a classic! Congratulations. Can’t wait to see the book!

  24. Nancy permalink
    September 11, 2010 7:54 am

    Who would have ever thought that Vampires and Knitting would go together, but somehow it works. My favorite guilty pleasure is Vampire Diaries loving the badboy Damon. I just wished they sparkled. :)

  25. September 11, 2010 5:32 pm

    My favourite vampire books are the Anita Blake series by Laurell K Hamilton; well the first 10 or so, they go downhill later in the series.
    sewsable on rav

  26. Jes permalink
    September 12, 2010 6:33 pm

    I am currently really enjoying the House of Night series, but my favorite has to be Dead To The World.

  27. September 13, 2010 9:22 am

    I’m an all around vampire fan! For movies/TV, I love Twilight, True Blood, Vampire Diaries, the erstwhile Moonlight (and not necessarily in that order). As for books, some of my guilty pleasures include Vampire Kisses, House of Night, Twilight, Evernight, Vampire Academy…

  28. Jessica permalink
    September 13, 2010 4:09 pm

    I love, love, love the Twilight Saga Books! I love Vampire Diaries tv series the best and my favorite movie is New Moon. :)

  29. PaperDoves permalink
    September 13, 2010 8:45 pm

    Well, you know the old joke about how I am, in fact, an actual vampire because my blood disorder’s symptoms are pretty vampiric?

    Apart from that, my favorite vampire is Lestat. Also, I like being bitten. And knitting.

  30. mom permalink
    September 13, 2010 9:38 pm

    My favorite ones are the sookie ones cuz those the onlyones I have read~ ! My published daughter!!! xoxoxo

  31. Kera Holm permalink
    September 14, 2010 9:06 pm

    Ok, I love your cute hat design! I have only watched a few vampire movies – just because my husband loves them; but I found I like them all because I was so surprised that there is actually an underlying “love” theme in all of them! I never expected that and will want to watch more now! Good luck in all of your “vampish” designs!

  32. Isabelle permalink
    September 16, 2010 3:20 am

    Looking forward to the new book – it’s on my Amazon wishlist already!

    I am a fan of vampire fiction and love most of the films/tv series mentioned here already but would also like to mention a little-know Canadian tv series from the 90s – Forever Knight, about police detective Nick Knight working the night shift in Toronto. I caught this when it was repeated every night late on cable here in the UK, and would alwasy watch it before going to bed.

Trackbacks

  1. Abalone Progress; Contest Winner! « TAAT Designs

Leave a Reply

