Skip to content

I Can’t Stop Smiling!

September 7, 2010
by

(Are you tired of me yet? Sorry. I still haven’t started my internship, which means I have not-a-thing to do each day except knit, and think about knitting. (and study for my science teaching test this Saturday, but let’s not talk about that, mmkay?))

What feels like a long time ago, and actually was quite awhile ago – before August 2008, according to Ravelry – a woman named Genevieve Miller came up with the fabulous idea to write a book full of patterns relating to the Twilight series of books. She put out a call for submissions and I sent in a few design ideas and thought that was it. While the original book idea ended up changing over time, in the end she was successful, and her book, Vampire Knits: Projects to Keep You Knitting from Twilight to Dawn, comes out one week from today, on September 14, 2010.

Why am I telling you this?  Well, it happens that one of my ideas was a hit, and so I have a pattern in this book! I received my copy of the book today (which was free, which is one of those perks of having a pattern in a book that you don’t realize will seem so awesome until the book arrives in your mailbox and you start grinning from ear to ear and just can’t stop), along with a check, which is somehow less exciting than seeing my name in the book itself, but also makes me feel like a Real Designer, which is awesome.

My pattern is called Werewolf Hat (creative, no? I’m afraid naming will never be my strong suit), and it’s designed for kids and adults alike to let them show off their inner wolf ;) The whole process from having ideas and submitting them to writing up the pattern to knitting samples and finding test knitters to working with Gen and her editor was new to me for this project. I learned a lot throughout the process, and loved being a part of it, so it is so exciting to finally have the finished product in my hands.  Since the book publishing process is a slow one, my contributions to the book were turned in back in February. Since then,  I’ve designed and self-published a few other patterns, and designed and submitted and had others accepted, but this marks my first accepted pattern and my first non-self-published pattern available to the general public, so it will always hold a special place in my heart ;)

For more information about the book and its projects and designers, or to see a sneak peek of the book, you can check out the website that Genevieve has created, Vampire Knits.

Without further ado… MY NAME IN PRINT!

hat2

(can I just add how much I love the graphics in the book? It is just gorgeous, from the cover to the back page. I love it!)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 7:53 pm

    Congrats, Abi! I am so happy for you! (Even if you DID violate the “no ‘book’ in thread titles before the look book comes out” rule. Intentionally. ;-) )

  2. Patty (Rugersmom) permalink
    September 8, 2010 6:58 am

    Oh Abi!!! I am so excited for you. Will there be a book signing at Serial Knitters??? Should I call and have them send me a signed copy!! Even if I never knit a thing from the book I will cherish it for ever and always because of you! BTW…. I miss you!

    • September 8, 2010 8:39 am

      Patty, I am not sure yet – I need to talk to them again. I’ll let you know ;)

  3. Liane permalink
    September 8, 2010 9:36 am

    Fabulous!! I will def buy a copy!!
    Congratulations :)

Leave a Reply

