Skip to content

Time Management, aka, Time to Knit!

September 5, 2010
by

In my life, Time Management has always been an issue. I’m a terrible procrastinator.  After all, why do today what you can put off until tomorrow? There are so many fun things to be done! Chores can wait! Why make the bed each morning, if it’s only going to get mussed again that night?  Clean clothes are clean whether they are in the laundry basket or in the dresser! Even so, I’ve managed well through the years. In high school and college, everything got done – although sleep was often sacrificed – and it seems the world is always inventing new ways to multitask and accomplish even more.  I live in a world of perpetual lists, and that helps, but there’s always one more thing to squeeze in each day.

Now, though, one of the things that keeps being stressed time and time again in my teaching program is Time Management. Everyone says this is crucial to having a successful classroom, and really important to staying sane as well.  Combining schoolwork with internships (and the work that comes with those – I have to start teaching actual lessons in my upcoming internship, which means more time and work involved!) and having some semblance of a personal life has been tricky, but doable. The gloom and doom from our instructors has got me a bit worried about my student teaching in the spring…  am I going to drown in even more lists? Will I get to go to knit night? How will I ever find time to knit?

This has all been on my mind a lot lately, as I’ve been trying to finish the Endless Garter Stitch Project, work on my Secret Rainbow Project and now knit samples of Toasty and Adorable by the end of the month – while still finding time to knit other projects!  So it was a timely reminder today when I opened my blog reader and clicked on a post from an author I enjoy, Patricia C. Wrede, about time and the use thereof.  Her post, “Rocks in a Jar“, seems like it ought to be required reading for all of us (and if you like fantasy but haven’t read any of her books before, you should! Because everyone needs one more thing to add to their to-do list, right?).

We all have to spend a certain amount of time doing things we don’t really want to do, so of course we want to say yes when the chance to do something we DO want to do comes up. This is something that I know the four of us struggle with, and we’ve all had to take turns practicing saying “no”.  Today, I’m having to say “no” to knitting, in favor of studying science. I’m taking a test on the 11th to try to prove I know science well enough to teach middle schoolers, so I’d better devote my attention to that just now… but I did take a break last night, and knit while watching Revenge of the Nerds and the first two episodes of the new Pillars of the Earth miniseries with my husband, so I’m all rested and ready to go!

(And, once I finish the 7th grade workbook, I will be free to knit the rest of the evening! That’s a pretty good incentive :))

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Trisha permalink*
    September 5, 2010 1:38 pm

    To be totally fair, taking time off from knitting to study science seems well worth it when it earns you 100% in the class, darling Abigail.

    I am so proud of you!

    But then again, if you are doing that well, you could afford to put off the studying to knit some more. :P

  2. September 5, 2010 6:19 pm

    How did you like Pillars of the Earth? I’ve really enjoyed it so far.

  3. September 5, 2010 7:48 pm

    Trisha, the state test is a lot harder than my class was :P

    Rhiannon, I am really enjoying it! I loved the books but haven’t read them in awhile, so it’s been fun to watch it all unfold and recognize what is happening :)

Leave a Reply

