Skip to content

You know what I need?

September 1, 2010
by

Accountability.

I have half a sock, sitting beside my knitting chair. It’s lovely. It was designed by Allison and I am knitting it for Tesia. The yarn was dyed by Sharon. There are so many things I love about this project, not the least that it is tied in so many ways to people I care about. But the thing is, I am avoiding it. I have already knit the first sock. I have some deadline knitting approaching, hopefully soon, if FedEx smiles on me. I should get this sock done before that yarn gets here. But I keep avoiding it. I guess my brain is mush from all the expectation. First day of school, another first day of school (grade 1 and preschool don’t start on the same day.), Stick’s birthday, my birthday, the September 20 release of the Steampunk collection from Sanguine Gryphon, and the knitting and submitting of my next two designs. As well as the publication of those. The fall colourways from 3IG. Winter (although that is more dread than anticipation.)

I think that with all that to look forward to, I have been holding back on the sock because I don’t want to feel pressure with it. I don’t want to feel rushed. But it’s ridiculous. I enjoy knitting it, and it’s time to get back at it. So. Tomorow. I will finish the gusset.

Ok. Maybe not tomorow. My boy turns 4 tomorow. My parents are coming. My husband starts days off. Tomorow is busy. But I will knit at least a few rows. There is no reason not to.

Have I mentioned that after I finish Tesia’s sock, there is still the second one for my pair to knit? Yeah. 4 socks, the same pattern. And then we 4, TAAT, will have matching socks. One day. Hold me accountable, alright?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Allison permalink*
    September 2, 2010 1:35 pm

    If it makes you feel any better, I only have one sock for me. Abi’s the only one with a pair…

  2. Rhonnie permalink
    September 2, 2010 5:56 pm

    Ahhh poor single sockies ;)

    Question – I have never ordered from sanguine gryphon but the name steam punk intrigues me…DH loves steam punk stuff, lol. So where might I see the pretties?

Leave a comment