Skip to content

Crochet along

August 22, 2010

Allison and I are having a crochet along, making Tropical Breeze shawls by Joan Beebe. For some reason, this was my idea. As is typical of me, as soon as I had the chance to take a deep breath and relax before the next challenge would present itself, I went the other way, and found my own challenge. Truth be told, I could blame Allison, as she was the one who sent me the yarn that so desperately wanted to be crochetted. This is one of the most vocal yarns I have ever met. But it’s lovely. A 50/50 merino silk blend from hands + notions fiber goods in almost antique looking shades of rose.

I am not a crochetter, I have tried it before, but with cheap metal hooks that made my hand go numb and contributed to some painful bouts of tendonitis. And cheap scratchy yarn. This is a world different, with a nicer hook and yarn as soft and smooth as my little boy’s skin. I haven’t gotten far yet, I am not as fast at crochet as I am at knitting, but the pattern itself is pretty simple, using only a few basic stitches. Anyone who is interested in crochetting along with us can find the pattern on Ravelry or on Knit Picks, and can join us to chatter about it here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. lallison79 permalink*
    August 22, 2010 1:34 pm

    I love this. I love that you’re crocheting…and leading a CAL. And I love that you introduced me to this pattern.

    What’s funny is…the only thing that yarn told me is “I want to live with Trisha”. But it did tell me that really really loudly. You’re not kidding about it being vocal!

  2. Rhonnie permalink
    August 22, 2010 7:44 pm

    LOVE it!!!
    If I didn’t have so much on my plate I’d attempt to CAL with you guys!

Leave a Reply

