Skip to content

Color and Contrast (Or why do I always have to knit all my designs twice?)

August 15, 2010
by

The Yarn Spot, a yarn shop in Wheaton, MD, commissioned a custom colorway from Three Irish Girls called Pansy.  At one point, I contacted them to order a skein with a coordinating green for some colorwork…and then failed to follow up (the story of my life!).  Fortunately, Jessica made a trip to The Yarn Spot before the retreat and picked up a skein of Pansy and a skein of Pansy Green for me and I was finally able to knit with these beautiful colorways.

My goal was to make a floral-inspired colorwork sock…playing around with different floral motifs, I eventually started knitting this sock:

Now I love this sock…I truly do.  The purple and yellow flowers popping out in a field of green…they are just so very happy.

But…the shape of the colorwork just doesn’t show…so while someone knitting this in Pansy and Pansy Green can expect a sock like the one above, what about other people?  What will they get?  Can you tell the design from the sock above?  Probably not…

So then I began a second pair in two highly contrasting semi-solid colorways…Cosmo and Agua Vida from the Spring Rainbow (also 3IG).  This one shows off the design:

So while I love both, when I publish the pattern, the Cosmo/Agua Vida sock will be the one used…but the Pansy/Pansy Green will be there to show other knitters what a different color combination will do…and how it can change the story of a sock.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2010 10:28 am

    I love the new design! I also love that I brought you three skeins of yarn and you started projects for them all within a week. That would never happen in my world!

  2. Sandy permalink
    August 15, 2010 10:34 am

    Excellent lesson in colour choice affecting the finished look of a garment. I love the design, but it is unfortunate that you can’t see it in the original inspiration.

  3. Rhonnie permalink
    August 16, 2010 6:18 am

    Wow! What a difference the yarn makes!! Great pattern :)

  4. August 17, 2010 11:49 am

    Than you for doing the work FOR us! Saves us time…

  5. August 18, 2010 10:58 am

    While I love the motif, I have to admit I’m partial to the first one–and not just because pansies are my favorite flower! I love the impressionist look to the sock you get–it really does look like a field of pansies.

Leave a Reply

