Skip to content

Knitting a Fish, Part II

August 10, 2010
by

In November of 2009, I flew out to meet Tesia and Abi in Seattle…and then we drove up to northern Canada to visit Trisha.  On our drive through the Canadian Rockies, we felt that a commemorative colorway was in order.  We planned to submit this photo:


to Sharon at Three Irish Girls to create a Custom Colorway called “The Road to Trisha’s”.  A few months later, however, the colorways for Sock Yarnista and Stash Menagerie had the same feel…we didn’t need a custom colorway…one magically appeared!

Once it arrived, I knew it had to be a commemorative sock.  And so 4Sisters was born.  I searched for the perfect stitch patterns…thank goodness for the Barbara Walker Treasuries!…and eventually found a beautiful 4 strand cable…4 strands equal and intertwining…and the Shetland Lace pattern ‘Four Sisters’.  I combined these into a sock that celebrates friendship and the constant intertwining of our lives, no matter how far apart we may be.

Once I decided on the pattern, I let Trisha in on my secret.  She and I decided to knit them for the other two…I’d knit a pair for Abi and she’d knit a pair for Tesia.  And so we did.  Friendship socks knit by friends.  It was perfect.  And now I am sitting in Tesia’s living room, putting the finishing touches on this pattern (she is the foot model in the picture above!).  And everything is happy.

4Sisters

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 8:09 pm

    I am wearing my pair right now, and they really are beautiful!

  2. Audrey permalink
    August 10, 2010 8:51 pm

    These socks are so so awesome!!! One day I will be able to knit this good too and knit a pair!

  3. Sandy permalink
    August 10, 2010 9:29 pm

    So the secret is out? I am about halfway through sock #2 and am enjoying the process. Love them, love the story behind them!

  4. Rhonnie permalink
    August 11, 2010 5:40 am

    What a wonderful story and beautiful socks!! :)

  5. August 11, 2010 8:14 am

    Yay! I can stop calling them fish now? And I adore the story behind these socks. I have been telling anyone who will listen :) It makes a little happy place in my heart.

  6. August 11, 2010 11:07 am

    Those are fantastic socks and the story behind them is so sweet!

Leave a Reply

