Skip to content

Knitting Retreat!

August 5, 2010
by

I am so excited to be attending a mini knitting retreat this weekend with some close friends (I’ll give you two guesses who three of the friends are!).

I am really excited about this, of course, but it necessitates doing something I loathe with a passion: packing.

Not only do I have to pack clothes, but I have to pack knitting, food and bedding.

I think my brain is about to explode, so I will leave you with this:

002

This is an unblocked Tulip Baby Cardigan (a Dream in Color pattern), using the Spring Rainbows mini-skein set from Three Irish Girls. The base is Springvale, which is a wonderful worsted weight yarn, and I absolutely loved working with both the yarn and the colorway.  I did not love the pattern, but I didn’t hate it, either. I knit the 12-18 month size, but due to my different gauge the finished sweater is more like 3-6 months. I used ever so slightly over half of each of nine mini-skeins, and each mini-skein is 1/4 of a full skein (so, 1/4 of 250 yards).  Perhaps someone with a less-likely-to-explode brain can figure out how the actual yardage!

The sweater currently remains in its unblocked state because I cannot decide if I like the edging. I did a simple seed stitch border, binding off using my favorite surprisingly stretchy bind off. I love the stretch, but don’t love the slight rippled look it gives the edges.

So, while I’m away, I’ll put it to a vote: Block it with the edging as-is? Rip out the bind off and re-do it using a less-stretchy bind-off? Option C?

I hope everyone enjoys their weekends, where ever you are!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Patty permalink
    August 5, 2010 8:57 am

    So why is it that you are posting instead of packing. I am at Tesia’s work waiting to see you…. :0)

  2. Lyn (DownwardDogFbrs) permalink
    August 5, 2010 9:27 am

    Block as is – it looks like an i-cord edging! Very pretty, and enjoy your vacation!

  3. Rhonnie permalink
    August 5, 2010 1:14 pm

    As-is for sure!! LOVE love love love it!! :)

  4. August 9, 2010 11:38 am

    I’d block it. You really can’t be sure what the finished border is going to look like anyway until it is blocked–it’s not fair to the poor seed stitch to judge it yet! ;-)

Leave a Reply

